Soft-N-Fluffy Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Amazing! I really may never buy buns at the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindischwab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very easy and tasty too. I didn't use a bread machine. I used a kitchen aid with a dough hook for 5 min and then let it rest for 1 hour then punched it down and created 16 dough balls. Next time I won't let it rest so long in between. Over all very nice recipe that I have already shared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Oh gosh, where do I start? I make these at least three times a week, and we use them for everything--sandwiches, hamburgers, hotdogs, snacking...I haven't bought bread in months. Super easy because they're done in the bread machine, and the texture is just as airy and soft as the buns from the store. The flavor is perfect. WFDM, this recipe is amazing. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
These are truly wonderful...will make from now on!Oh, I added an egg white and adjusted the water accordingly..lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gglorybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Great taste, but I recommend putting the balls of dough close together so they don't flatten too much. I removed them from the oven when I thought they were done rising, but they started to sink! So in the end, they didn't rise as high, but were still light and fluffy inside. I used milk instead of water and added an egg white. I left out the vital wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Oh yum - these were a snap to whip up. I did substitute 1/2 cup wheat flour which made these a little dense, but just a tad. Next time, will make exactly as directed. We served with feta burgers topped with red onion, and arugala/spinach mix. Outstanding. Thank you so much for recipe - a definate keeper. Note to self: I made 3oz balls and came up with exactly 8 perfectly sized burger buns. UPDATE: OK - just made another batch, completely as directed. They looked beautiful, baked up nice and high, but when we went to eat, the tops were *rubbery*??? Bopping over to Buzz to see what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I've searched for the perfect hamburger bun and found them. I've made these many times now and my family is very happy with them. I always make 8 buns out of the recipe and they make the bigger size buns (which is what we like). They hold together nicely with burgers and toppings and have a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumof5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adrade
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very easy dough to work with. I don't use a bread machine - and for this dough, didn't use a stand mixer - just kneaded it by hand until smooth and elastic - only a few minutes. I had never used vital wheat gluten in bread before - but I think this may be the secret to extremely fluffy breads. I used this dough to do small slider buns, so got 24 buns out of it - and they came out great. Next time, I'm going to substitute some ingredients and use butter instead of oil to try to get some extra umph out of it - but in all, stellar and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I have made these buns many times since I first reviewed. They always turn out great. I started with using 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup AP or bread flour. They were great. I now make them with all whole wheat flour (usually the white ww) and 3 Tbsp vital wheat gluten. They still turn out nice and soft...a little more dense than with AP flour, but we love the texture. I always make 8 buns instead of 12...this also makes great hot dog buns. It's just a great recipe and so easy. We never buy store buns any more. UPDATE: I make these buns in a regular basis, and I have never had them not turn out well. In reading the reviews that stated they will not stand up to a juicy burger and fall apart, I have some tips that might help...be sure you take the time to form each piece of dough into a nice tidy ball and then shape it with your hand. I made these yesterday and was in a hurry and didn't take the time to form them into a ball...some of these did fall apart for the first time ever. We didn't care, they are still delicious. It's all in the shaping! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Turned out perfectly:) I made 8 instead of 12 and they got pretty big so i might shot for 10 next time. left out the vital wheat gluten. and a quick spray of pam on the top when they were finished...i will be making again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by efuagwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States