Soft-N-Fluffy Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Very easy, and a bland, store bought type bun--recipe submitter gave full disclosure for those of you who are unsure. I forgot to flatten them so ended up with puffy rolls (I didn't use vital wheat gluten), and 12 minutes wasn't quite enough to brown mine. I took them out anyway; next time I'll have to leave them in longer or use the broiler or something. Worked well for hubs' barbequed pork for dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made these today and WOW! I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer and proofed the yeast with the water and sugar for 10 minutes. Then added Coconut Oil rather than canola. Mixed the salt with the flour and kneaded in the mixer for about 5 minutes. I did not use the gluten. Then plopped it into an oiled bowl and let it rise for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, formed it into buns (I got 7 out of the recipe) and let them raise for 45 minutes. It was a very soft sticky dough, but I oiled my hands and then formed them into buns, worked wonderfully! Baked at 350* 12 minutes. I was very glad that I read the reviews before baking as I would have over baked them had I been waiting for them to turn golden brown. They really did not brown much but WOW ~ I had one with Irish Butter when it was still warm and am serving them with BBQ Beef for supper! This was the simplest bun recipe I have ever baked and to my surprise, they are the BEST! I will be making them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
These buns are so much BETTER than any buns you will ever buy at the store. I have always been intimidated to make my own hamburger buns because it always seemed so difficult and time-consuming... I was wrong. Since I've started reading the ingredients list of the store-bought version (which is downright scary, by the way), I decided to try making them myself and these are so easy and delicious I won't go back to buying them any more. I follow the recipe exactly and then give them a quick brush with some melted butter after they're done baking, which makes them very soft. I don't understand some of the comments that they don't hold up to a juicy burger, because these most certainly do - even sloppy joes! Love Love Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is my new favorite. I found that 12 portions make great dinner rolls but 8 portions are good for larger burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Schofield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I skipped the wheat gluten and it was still good. Also made good dinner rolls. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I really like it. These were easy to make & while mine didn't rise too high, they were still great with the burgers we made. I'll load the actual burger pics later. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
The texture was good and they raised great but they were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I always use bread flour for my breads and do not add the gluten. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These were great. I have made them a few times now, exactly as written. They work great for us for meatball sandwiches and did not fall apart. I get about 8 sub buns or 24 small rolls depending on how I divide my dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The name says it all. I did add a bit more sugar and salt according to our preference, but then followed the recipe exactly after that. I thought they held up to a burger fine. They did wrinkle a little after cooling, but I will try steaming them before serving again. I realize "What's for Dinner, mom?" put a lot of effort and care into this one. My family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States