Soft Molasses Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These were DELICIOUS! I added about 3 tbsp more molasses, rolled them in sugar, made them a little smaller and pressed them down a little before baking to make sure they cooked all the way through. DELISH. MAKE THESE, and you will be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These were super easy and turned out perfect. The only thing I did differently was to roll each ball of dough in organic sugar before baking. Gave them a nice texture and a little crunch. Really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyWV

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Nice and soft, good flavor. Nothing special but it turned out perfect with no changes to the recipe so nothing to complain about either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I've made this several times since downloading the recipe. We really like it. The smell as it bakes is wonderful too! I've made it as is, and also used half butter and half butter flavored shortening. I've also played with the amount of spices. It's great as is, but also has wonderful possiblities. My kids love these with a big mug of spicy hot cocoa- and they are amazing dipped in homemade whipped cream. So glad I found these. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I only made 2 changes to the recipe as written: Added more spices, and added a but of rum for more flavor. I read through the reviews and have to say... if you follow the directions and don't over cook the cookies (I made that mistake with one sheet...) this comes out great! I made this recipe twice so far, the first time so much of the dough went into my children's mouths that there weren't enough cookies! Both times came out wonderful. However, I used dark molasses the first batch and mild molasses the second. I happen to prefer the dark molasses version. I did change the cookie forming method however. Instead of cooling the whole batch of dough, I put it into a ziplock bag, cut the end off and "piped" the cookies onto the sheet. I then froze them for a few minutes to help keep their form, and baked them. (Much quicker then waiting for the whole bowl to cool) I also sprinkled a few with regular sugar and it added a wonderful touch. These are more of a cake like cookie, but not too much so. Cake like cookies tend to stay soft for longer though which is good for my purpose. I sent them to my deployed husband and his room mates and am awaiting the response on how they arrived!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat D ~ Dreamkat29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Describing a cookie as "soft" made me think "chewy", but these aren't chewy. Rather they're light and fluffy, and quite thick, like something midway between a cookie and cake. That makes them different from your average cookie, and that's a good thing. People will know as soon as they bite into one of these that they're not eating some generic cookie. I used a full teaspoon of cinnamon rather than a half, but I still felt these could have used a little more spice. Maybe I'll add a little ground cloves next time. I also rolled the balls of dough in coarse sugar before baking. This adds a nice bit of crunch to the surface. I'm a big fan of the taste of molasses, so I'm sure I'll be making these (with my small adjustments) often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I've been looking for a really good Molasses cookie recipe since Grandma's quit making them - 7 years. This is not a perfect match, but with a little tweaking it was. Increased molasses to a full cup and added an extra 1/2 C flour so it wasn't too runny, iced with a simple powdered sugar glaze. Perfect! Awesome! Thanks!! They were so good that a double batch didn't make it through the night-my kids inhaled them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I had a craving for these cookies, and this recipe fixed me up! They made the house smell wonderful. I also added a pinch of allspice to the recipe, which added a nice flavour I think. Unfortunately, these cookies came out really flat, maybe I should have refrigerated the dough longer before baking. The fact that the cookies are flat doesn't bother us though, the flavour is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I took these cookies to work as a treat for everyone. One of the staff members commented that they were "better then his mom's"! Now that's a compliment if I've ever heard one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNAmouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Perfect! I used white wheat flour and they turned out great! they did resemble puffs more than a cookie, I think I needed less/no refrigeration with the wheat flour. My 19 month old and 3 year old wouldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States