Soft Molasses Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious and they did stay soft. My husband loves the soft cookies and since my regular one gets hard I thought I'd try this. He loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These cookies are GREAT!! They stay sooo soft and the whole family loved them. The only things I altered were the brown sugar and cinnamon. I used 3/4 c. brown sugar and 1tsp. of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Wonderful recipe! It is very easy to make, has a great texture and taste. I also liked that it uses butter instead of shortening. Makes a huge difference in the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is my first time making these cookies. Super simple to make! I always have trouble getting a cookie to stay soft, but not these! I was out of ginger so used extra cinnamon & allspice to make the difference, plus I added some fresh grated nutmeg and tiny bit of grated lemon rind, just because it was there in front of me. Oh and I was short on molassas by a quarter cup, so made up the difference with brown sugar and about 3 TBLSP of water I put in the molassas jar to get all I could. Then I rolled them in cinnamon/sugar. Not only are the cookies still soft(yeah!), they are big and super tasty. I am very confident they are even better with the correct ingredients. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It will be my go to ginger/molassas cookie in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Dang. These were so hard to enjoy, however I do not think it is because of the recipe, I think that I used an incorrect type of molasses (cooking molasses), perhaps I used a type that was a little stronger because mine had an insanely strong aroma and taste of molassses which was extremely unpleasant! I had to separately bake 3 batches as I only had 1 cookie sheet. The 3rd batch I topped with some sugar, which reduced about 40% of the molasses flavour however still distinctable. And yes, i did follow the recipe, everything down to the teaspoon. Very upset my cookies turned out bad =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was a nightmare recipe... even when I added the amount of flour it called for the batter was sticky and too wet and after adding an additional cup of flower and chilling, I baked them and they spread out bad and even after cooking for 12-14 minutes they were wet inside and wanted to fall apart. From now on I think I am going to stick to the recipe on the back of the molasses jar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine61967

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
these taste good, but i wouldnt call them spicy. they are not too sweet, so it's good for those who dont want too sweet. i would do this again but add more spices. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Cardin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I didn't think this had enough spice and they were too cake like for me.. soft but too much flour. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bartmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Fantastic cookies! Thank you Sal. I've been looking for a really good recipe for soft molasses cookies for some time now and I've found it! I'm going have to double the recipe because this batch barely lasted 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Excellent recipe ... my kids are saying these are the best cookies I've ever made! Yumm ... super soft and delicious. I also rolled them in sugar before baking. Very pretty when they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States