Soft Molasses Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I have made these more than a dozen times and they are always a hit. They practically disappear as I am putting them out, and when I do have some left over after making a double batch they stay soft for days until they are gone. Sometimes I even put icing on them but to be honest they don't need it. Perfect as is and the only reason I haven't made them in several years is that they are too good - my fiance and I eat too many and after my mom had her heart attack I didn't want to make them and then refuse to give her any. She loves them, especially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandaclari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Excellent, easy to make and I've actually rolled them into balls and set them in the freezer for later cooking. They turn out just as good and are ready when you want them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blusquirrel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amyindenver
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Soft, chewy, slightly crunchy outside...perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyindenver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The only fault I can find with this recipe is not enough spice. I like them very spicy, so I'll double the spices next time and add some ground cloves. The texture is perfect! I rolled them in a mixture of maple and white sugar and pressed them down with a fork. The maple added another subtle layer of flavor. This is definitely one for the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Fantastic! Soft, moist cookies and I recommend rolling the dough balls in baker's sugar before baking. Adds a nice sweetness that isn't overwhelming. Great recipe! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Perfect. Almost a tiny bit crusty on the outside, and soft inside. I used 1 tsp cinnamon, and I don't use butter, so subbed my regular soft-tub margarine (NOT the reduced-fat kind!). I made the batter yesterday but didn't have time to finish so refrigerated it until this afternoon and even with that, and my margarine, they were still perfect. Baked on convection bake at 335F for 16 minutes. I rolled them in a mix of regular white sugar and coarse green sugar before baking - makes a nice sparkly Christmas presentation. Thanks, Sal, for this delicious, easy, and forgiving recipe. It'll definitely be a go-to cookie year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious and they did stay soft. My husband loves the soft cookies and since my regular one gets hard I thought I'd try this. He loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These cookies are GREAT!! They stay sooo soft and the whole family loved them. The only things I altered were the brown sugar and cinnamon. I used 3/4 c. brown sugar and 1tsp. of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Wonderful recipe! It is very easy to make, has a great texture and taste. I also liked that it uses butter instead of shortening. Makes a huge difference in the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is my first time making these cookies. Super simple to make! I always have trouble getting a cookie to stay soft, but not these! I was out of ginger so used extra cinnamon & allspice to make the difference, plus I added some fresh grated nutmeg and tiny bit of grated lemon rind, just because it was there in front of me. Oh and I was short on molassas by a quarter cup, so made up the difference with brown sugar and about 3 TBLSP of water I put in the molassas jar to get all I could. Then I rolled them in cinnamon/sugar. Not only are the cookies still soft(yeah!), they are big and super tasty. I am very confident they are even better with the correct ingredients. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It will be my go to ginger/molassas cookie in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States