Soft Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
My husband loved these cookies. He said they were the best he ever had. They turned out very soft and are not flat like traditional molasses cookies. Using dark molasses is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Roundup, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Excellent and easy! I changed the flour to 2 3/4 cups and changed the molasses to 1/2 cup. I sprinkled sugar on them before baking and didn't glaze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Klucy09
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
These are fantastic!! I also took suggestions from others....3 1/4cup flour...2/3+ cup molasses....1tsp baking soda, 1tsp baking powder....a bit more ginger and cinnamon...just about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and allspice....I used 1 cup of dark brown sugar...no white....and used 1/2cup shortening and 1/2cup butter....rolled them in white sugar before placing them on a baking stone...baked at 350 for about 10 minutes...then took the suggestion to gently flatten them at this point...bake for an additional 3-5 min....I also chilled the dough in the freezer...much easier to mold...turned out beautifully....and taste amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
Excellent flavor and texture. Stays comparitively soft and the grandchildren simply love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I baked these for a cookie swap at work. Since I don't bake very often and am not known for my culinary skills, people were surprised at just how good they were. I found this recipe easy to follow and quick....a gem in the hectic holiday season. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
I made this for an event at work and received several complements and requests for the recipe. It won my pick because it didn't require an overnight chill. Even my mom, a wonderful cook, asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
These were so soft and tasty! I doubled the cinnamon and ginger because I like a heavier spice flavour in my cookies, and I added some nutmeg as well. They came out perfectly in 11 minutes. Yesterday I made another batch, but with honey instead of molasses and just the recommended amount of spice. Those were really good too. I'm definitely keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
These cookies were amazing. I made a few changes based on some other reviews... increased cinnamin to 2 tsp and increased the molasses to 1/2 c. Also used 1/2 c. white and 1/2 c. br sugar. The resulting cookie was soft, had excellent flavor and tasted great iced with caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
wow+++++ amazing cookies... i did increase the molasse and cinnamon and also used 1/2 c white and 1/2 c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
iam from the countryside in egypt and i go mad each time i read a recipe saying cookie dough or cookie mix or whatnot i thought this recipe would be easy enough to make and it was..its extremely delicious too ..the cookies were so light and soft..seemed bit too sweet to eat alone though..by the way ..u can substitute baking powder with baking soda its the same..i greased the sheets so cookies lost a bit of its shape but remained sweet though..am definitely goona make alot of soft cookies from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States