Soft Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Good cookie, different from what your used to in the store. Much more of a mild flavor. I found the secret to overcoming the cake-like texture.....Take cookies out of the oven just a minute or two early, lightly tap the cookie flat again (I just used a spatula). Finish baking cookies. I also baked them at 350 instead of 375, and took out just BEFORE they were thoroughly baked. I baked them on a baking stone and left them on the stone until cooled. Since the stone retains heat, they slowly finished baking on the stone. Great texture..... This technique seemed to make them a little more chewey. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I didn't have any sour cream so I used the evaporated milk and vinegar substitution mentioned. I was a bit worried about the texture of the mix as I spooned it onto the baking sheet. Very smooth and kinda runny. I didn't have high hopes for how they'd turn out - but they cooked up just fine. Not quite the texture/consistency I was looking for though once baked. The kids didn't seem to mind however, so i'll probably make them agian for them -since they are so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calais, Maine, USA
Living In: Norway, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This recipe was disappointing. The final result was a salty, cakey cookie, with none of the right flavors (or much flavor at all, for that matter). I am, as I type this, trying to figure out what to put in the remaining batter to make it taste better. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
These were really good. Some modifications...I reduced the molasses to 1/2 cup (it was all I had), and added 1/4 cup sour cream. I also used brown sugar, instead of white...to make a softer cookie. My kids are loving them as I type! I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richibucto, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I liked these, but they were more like mini-cakes than cookies. I rated them only 3 stars because I like to eat cookie dough, and I didn't like the dough, but the cookies were actually good. I wish they were more chewy than cakey. Not a bad recipe, just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
It didn't have enough molasses flavor, and was not sweet enough. I added 1/3 cup sugar to the final batter and made thinner cookies to make it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
Good recipe, very light, soft and cake-like. Would have liked more molasses flavor. Maybe a stronger molassed next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
I made this for an event at work and received several complements and requests for the recipe. It won my pick because it didn't require an overnight chill. Even my mom, a wonderful cook, asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
This recipe was a bit more cake-y thank I prefer. If you choose to make it, use a full-flavored molasses or you won't taste it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I baked these for a cookie swap at work. Since I don't bake very often and am not known for my culinary skills, people were surprised at just how good they were. I found this recipe easy to follow and quick....a gem in the hectic holiday season. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States