Soft Molasses Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
They are dry, unflavorful, and burnt, even if I only cooked them for 11 and 10 minutes for my 2 batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Cardin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I have been searching for a cookie like my Gramm made when I was a child, these came out as light as air,,like a sponge cake.. not what I was looking for. Oh well she did not have today's ovens either,, she had a wood/coal stove. will continue on with the search..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lou
Home Town: Pine Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I thought these turned out good. Of course I did tweek them a little. I added 1 cup brown sugar,2 teaspoons cinnamom and only 1/2 teaspoon ginger. I did roll them in sugar before baking.Next time i will use a darker molasses,then it will be more like my mom used to make. i will be maing these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I thought these cookies were tasteless-also burned a bit on the bottom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I did not care for these cookies. Followed the recipe to the letter. I have been searching for a good chewy molasses cookie, and read the reviews. Thought this looked promising. Hesitated strongly at 2 tsp of baking soda for 2 1/4 cups flour, but none of the reviews mentioned an off taste. Ours tasted STRONGLY of baking soda. If I were to make them again, I would use 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These were great cookies! Moist, and delicious! And they had a beautiful appearance too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvlemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Springville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These are a cookie. That is all I can say. Not much flavor. 400 degrees! I should have used my own head. TOO HOT! Even at 9 minutes they were too dark and the bottom dark dark brown if not black. I will not be making these again. Sorry I wasted my time and ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
these are delicious! Soft, and chewy! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTALEE5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pholtey
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is the molasses cookie recipe of my many molasses cookie dreams. High altitude: left out cold water; substituted dark brown sugar, rolling in light brown. Sub butter for shortning so left out salt. Wish I added more raisins! Yummy!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States