Soft, Moist and Gooey Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These came out great, those of you who failed are doing it wrong. I didn't use a bread machine (don't believe in them). So I followed rubes1's suggestion for hand mixing. I did come across a problem with the flour. The recipe called for 4 cups but I used less, the dry desert may have been a factor in that. By 2 cups it looked ready to go but I added one more cup (3 in total) and they did come out a bit dry and had trouble rising. Despite that issue they still came out moist and ooey gooey. I omitted the raisins and nuts and put TWICE the amount of smear in the middle, I think that helped with the dry air and too much flour issue. I also omitted the pudding, many of the reviews I read said it gave the rolls an off taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Family loved this...I used Banana Creme pudding as that all I had on hand...and half the brown sugar was splenda brown sugar and pomegranate juice infused crasins because we like them more than raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Wow! The absolutely, very best recipe for cinnamon buns ever!! I always failed at cinnamon buns before, but this bread machine version is perfect - and I made them perfect the first time. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Fionasmom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Instructions for cinnamon buns using the mixer or by hand: 1)Combine water, yeast, sugar. Allow to proof for about 15 minutes in warm place (cover with plastic wrap or a damp towel). I leave my yeast to proof in the microwave after having turned it on for a minute to heat it up. Then I put the yeast mixture in (don't turn on while it is in!). 2)Mix remaining wet ingredients for dough in mixer (or by hand). Add yeast mixture. Mix till combined. 3)Switch whisk attachment w/ the dough hook (or knead by hand in a large bowl to save mess of having to knead on a surface). Slowly mix in the flour w/ the dough hook, on a low speed. Once flour is more or less blended (& won't fly out of the sides), knead at a high speed till it forms a sort of ball around the dough hook. Avoid adding lots of extra flour to avoid dry buns. 4) Put in large greased and/or lightly floured bowl. Cover & let rise in warm place till doubled in size (about 30-40 minutes- don't leave longer, even not yet doubled). 5) Follow instructions for rolling out & the rest of the recipe as written. I substituted 1/2 c. of butter w/ 1/4 c. margarine & 1/4 c. oil. It worked fine. A couple of buns that didn't get covered well in the glaze were slightly dry. It is important to use the full amount of the butter for filling so buns don't dry out. I highly recommend them & thank Tania for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Excellent recipe! I substituted 2cups (self-rising) cake flour & 2cups all-purpose flour for the bread maker flour. Also, I didn't have vanilla pudding so I used close to a Tbsp of pure vanilla instead. Turned out great! Would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I MADE THESE FOR CHRISTMAS BRUNCH AND THEY WERE FANTASTIC! I PUT THEM IN THE FRIDGE AFTER CUTTING AND PLACING IN THE PAN, LEFT OVERNIGHT, LET RISE NEXT MORNING, COOKED AND ICED. I DOUBLED THE ICING AND THE FILLING AND MY FAMILY LOVED THEM. WILL DO AGAIN AND AGAIN!!!! IN SPITE OF THE FACT THAT I AM NOT A BREAD MAKER THESE TURNED OUT WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The absolute best dang cinnamon rolls I've ever made and I've made my share. Like others, the pudding caught my eye and I knew I had to try this recipe. So glad I did, as this is really the only recipe I ever need to make again. The bread itself is so tender and easy to work with. The flavor is outstanding. Because of guests, I eliminated the nuts and raisins this time around and took the suggestion of some other reviewers to up the cinnamon. I did use 1 TBSP. Other than that, made as directed except I didn't use a bread maker and instead used my KA, and I am now a fat and sassy mama....not a good start to the New Year, but at least my family loves me and appreciates this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Great recipe. I'm sure if I'd thought to read through the other reviews I would have caught the reference to kneading the lot in a greased bowl. A must, I kneaded on a floured surface and it soaked up quite a lot of extra flour which made it a bit of a trick to roll it out. It was so darned elastic, it kept wanting to suck itself back into a ball. I managed it but good grief, just knead it in a bowl, all will be well, these are tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
the best cinnamon roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
OMG!!! I just took these out of the oven, and covered them in Cream Cheese icing...these are by far the best Cinnamon Buns I have ever had! CinnaBon who needs you!!! LOL I used my mix master to prepare the dough, following one reviewers instructions, and then continued with the recipe's directions. Don't need to change a thing! Perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed DeBoer
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States