Soft, Moist and Gooey Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I thought these were perfect. They turned out more soft and tender than the clone of cinnabon, just enough density and gooey perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Wow! Best cinnamon bun I've ever eaten! Crispy outside, soft inside. I increased the cinnamon to 1 tbsp. I used 3/4 cup soft butter spread on the dough and 1 cup brown sugar, the cinnamon and raisins sprinkled over the butter. I rolled the dough on an oiled surface, this stopped it from sticking to the counter. I will set the oven to 200F next time and do the second rise in the oven with a bit of heat. Mine didn't rise at first, so I turned on the oven, but it was a bit hot I think. They were seriously excellent!!!!! A keeper for sure! Easy and delicious. Thanks Tania!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
These are the best cinnamon rolls I have ever made in my life! They are soft and gooey but not raw. They taste like something that you would buy in a bakery. I have made the clone of a cinnabon recipe and this one is defintely better. I did use cream cheese icing. To make it I just added 4 oz of cream cheese to this icing. Yum, yum, yum!!! I would give this 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mel G
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Used this recipe as a base wth my own tweaks, and it was excellent!I didn't have vanilla pudding, so I substituted 1tbs cornflour + extra 1tbs sugar + 1/2tsp vanilla. Also didn't have a bread machine, so placed (warmed) milk, water, butter, sugar, beaten egg and yeast in measuring jug - left for a few minutes until mixture became frothy. Placed flour/s in large bowl (I substituted about half of the bread flour for a mix of wholemeal, barley and rye flour - just to add a bit more fibre), made a well in the centre, then added the milk-yeast mixture. Kneaded by hand for about 10 mins till dough was elastic. Covered and let prove for about 1hr (or until doubled in size), then followed the steps above from Step 2 onwards. I'd like to add that I think there is a typo in the icing proportions, instead of 4tbs butter and 1 tsp milk, I think it is 1tsp butter and 4tbs milk (the former makes a very yellow buttery icing). And my own tweak, a handful of toasted flaked almonds over the icing to finish! Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Loved this recipe!! I did it in the bread maker and WOW! a lot less trouble than making by hand. I did however changed the filling by using 2 1/2 tablespoons of cinnamon ( I love cinnamon!! ) instead 2 tsp. and in the icing I used 2 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of soft cream cheese instead of the 4 tablespoons of butter. They were a great hit with the family. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
A great recipe that also works at high altitude! These changes ensure tender rolls and make a sharper filling: Rolls: Shape dough on surface dusted with 2 Tbsp flour; place in a large Ziploc bag. Squeeze air out of the bag, close and chill overnight. On surface dusted with 2 Tbsp flour, rest dough 10 minutes. Shape into 10" x 18" rectangle with your hands by pounding and pushing dough. This reduces gluten development than using a rolling pin. Cut 1"-thick rolls with serrated knife; divide among 3 greased 9" round cake pans. They bake more evenly than in 13" x 9" pan (center rolls underbake). Proof Box: Place pans with rolls on upper oven shelf and large pan filled with boiling water on lower shelf; close door. Set temperature to 400 degrees for exactly 1 minute; turn off heat. Raise until doubled (15-20 minutes at high altitude). Bake just until edges of outer rolls are light gold (exactly 18 minutes in my oven at high altitude). Sharper Filling: Beat ingredients until smooth. This is easier than trying to evenly sprinkle sugar and cinnamon over buttered dough. I add culinary (not aromatherapy) cinnamon oil. Taste oil before using; I add 1 Tbsp of the mild Savory Spice Shop oil, but just 1 tsp of the much stronger Olive Nation oil. I buy oil online. More Frosting: 8 oz. softened cream cheese 1/2 cup softened butter 2 cups powdered sugar 2 tsp vanilla extract 2 tsp milk 1/8 tsp to 1/4 tsp lemon juice (to enhance cream cheese tang) Beat until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious! The first time I made these, I did not give them enough time to rise. You will get cinnamon sugar cooked dough if you do this. It was not good. I decided to try again. I made the dough the night before, refrigerated them overnight, and cooked them the next morning. They are delicious, and as my husband says, better than cinnabon. Try these. Follow the recipe EXACTLY. You won't be disappointed. I did add cinnamon to my frosting, as I love it, but that is not a must. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
These were amazing. I made the dough in the evening and let them rise in the fridge overnight. Took them out for an hour or so in the morning before baking. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made this yesterday and I think this is going to be my favourite recipe for cinnamon rolls from now onward. It was easy, and my dough turned out perfect. The buns were soft and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
These turned out awesome and went over well with the family. Great recipe. I will definatly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States