Soft, Moist and Gooey Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I tried the 'Clone of a Cinnabon' recipe on this site and I like these much better. I don't have a bread machine so I do this the 'old fashioned' way. Sometimes I use the icing here and other times make a cream cheese frosting. Either way, I am becoming known for my cinnamon rolls thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
absolutley fantastic! only change was I used buttermilk instead of regular milk, and I add 2 tsp of baking powder because I did not have bread flour! seriously amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These are by far the best cinnamon rolls I've ever made. In fact, I've been using this recipe for christmas gifts for my neighbors for over 10 years. I make the dough in my kitchenaid mixer, place the rolls in disposable aluminum foil pans, wrap in plastic wrap and freeze. We deliver them with a little gladware of cream cheese icing/glaze with instructions on how to thaw overnight and bake christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Amazing is all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I thought these were perfect. They turned out more soft and tender than the clone of cinnabon, just enough density and gooey perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Wow! Best cinnamon bun I've ever eaten! Crispy outside, soft inside. I increased the cinnamon to 1 tbsp. I used 3/4 cup soft butter spread on the dough and 1 cup brown sugar, the cinnamon and raisins sprinkled over the butter. I rolled the dough on an oiled surface, this stopped it from sticking to the counter. I will set the oven to 200F next time and do the second rise in the oven with a bit of heat. Mine didn't rise at first, so I turned on the oven, but it was a bit hot I think. They were seriously excellent!!!!! A keeper for sure! Easy and delicious. Thanks Tania!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
These are the best cinnamon rolls I have ever made in my life! They are soft and gooey but not raw. They taste like something that you would buy in a bakery. I have made the clone of a cinnabon recipe and this one is defintely better. I did use cream cheese icing. To make it I just added 4 oz of cream cheese to this icing. Yum, yum, yum!!! I would give this 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mel G
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Used this recipe as a base wth my own tweaks, and it was excellent!I didn't have vanilla pudding, so I substituted 1tbs cornflour + extra 1tbs sugar + 1/2tsp vanilla. Also didn't have a bread machine, so placed (warmed) milk, water, butter, sugar, beaten egg and yeast in measuring jug - left for a few minutes until mixture became frothy. Placed flour/s in large bowl (I substituted about half of the bread flour for a mix of wholemeal, barley and rye flour - just to add a bit more fibre), made a well in the centre, then added the milk-yeast mixture. Kneaded by hand for about 10 mins till dough was elastic. Covered and let prove for about 1hr (or until doubled in size), then followed the steps above from Step 2 onwards. I'd like to add that I think there is a typo in the icing proportions, instead of 4tbs butter and 1 tsp milk, I think it is 1tsp butter and 4tbs milk (the former makes a very yellow buttery icing). And my own tweak, a handful of toasted flaked almonds over the icing to finish! Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Loved this recipe!! I did it in the bread maker and WOW! a lot less trouble than making by hand. I did however changed the filling by using 2 1/2 tablespoons of cinnamon ( I love cinnamon!! ) instead 2 tsp. and in the icing I used 2 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of soft cream cheese instead of the 4 tablespoons of butter. They were a great hit with the family. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
A great recipe that also works at high altitude! These changes ensure tender rolls and make a sharper filling: Rolls: Shape dough on surface dusted with 2 Tbsp flour; place in a large Ziploc bag. Squeeze air out of the bag, close and chill overnight. On surface dusted with 2 Tbsp flour, rest dough 10 minutes. Shape into 10" x 18" rectangle with your hands by pounding and pushing dough. This reduces gluten development than using a rolling pin. Cut 1"-thick rolls with serrated knife; divide among 3 greased 9" round cake pans. They bake more evenly than in 13" x 9" pan (center rolls underbake). Proof Box: Place pans with rolls on upper oven shelf and large pan filled with boiling water on lower shelf; close door. Set temperature to 400 degrees for exactly 1 minute; turn off heat. Raise until doubled (15-20 minutes at high altitude). Bake just until edges of outer rolls are light gold (exactly 18 minutes in my oven at high altitude). Sharper Filling: Beat ingredients until smooth. This is easier than trying to evenly sprinkle sugar and cinnamon over buttered dough. I add culinary (not aromatherapy) cinnamon oil. Taste oil before using; I add 1 Tbsp of the mild Savory Spice Shop oil, but just 1 tsp of the much stronger Olive Nation oil. I buy oil online. More Frosting: 8 oz. softened cream cheese 1/2 cup softened butter 2 cups powdered sugar 2 tsp vanilla extract 2 tsp milk 1/8 tsp to 1/4 tsp lemon juice (to enhance cream cheese tang) Beat until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States