Soft Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These are soooo good! I can't stress how good they are enough. Easy and delicious. One thing that the recipe doesn't say that it should is that you should bake the cookies until they form the cracks at the top (like a classic gingersnap). I had trouble determining when they were ready, and I found that they were perfect when those cracks formed (also more visually appealing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I love that these are so soft and chewy. They are great. I ended up chilling the dough overnight and then rolled them into the balls. Having the dough very cold helped them from sticking on my hands too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
AWESOME cookies! I made them for my corridor mates while in Sweden, and every nationality here approved. If you want softer cookies, make larger balls and bake for a shorter time. For crispier cookies, make the balls of dough smaller and bake them for a longer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
These cookies are the best! This recipe has even replaced my great-grandma Bessie's gingersnap recipe. I know, it's horrible. But these cookies are so soft and chewy and have the perfect amount of sweetness and spice. I made a double batch and two days later, they were gone. Try this recipe, you will LOVE it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerome, Idaho, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
As far as gingersnaps go, I could not have asked for a better cookie. My boyfriend and I prefer more spice than most, so I doubled all the spices. I also baked them in a well-greased muffin pan (I like a thicker cookie, and having them all the same size is nice, too!). They were absolutely delicious, and stayed chewy for days. Will continue to use this recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SomeGeekyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Delicious! I especially appreciated this recipe because it was the only soft gingersnap recipe I found using butter rather than shortening. They are very mild, chewy and addictive! I plan to make these cookies part of my Christmas baking every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metamora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
These were wonderful, easy, and made a TON! The molasses in them was so wonderful. I tried rolling the balls in red and green sprinkles for Christmas, and they were very pretty! It took a lot more colored sugar than regular sugar for some reason, so if you don't have a ton of the colored sugar, you may not want to use it. Thanks so much for the recipe - this is a keeper for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Great gingersnap recipe--I love that they are so soft, chewy and have a nice flavor. The recipe makes a lot of cookies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Sooooooo soft and chewy! Loved it, although, I think I will use just a little bit less salt next time. I wrapped them in cellophane and gave them as office gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Bunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Great flavor. Easy to make. Give them a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States