Soft Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I don't write reviews as a rule because it's really so subjective but Ginger cookies are my husbands favorite and I decided to try this recipe because my tried and true one involves melting butter, mixing with molasses and getting it to room temp. Lot of work and I didn't have the time. These were wonderful! my only changes were bumping the ginger to 1 1/2 teas, just a pinch of clove, and a dash of salt as others have said. They were perfect and made the kitchen smell real old school and cozy. If your oven temp is true, you bake at the low end of the range (8 mins), use parchment paper, and measure correctly, it should not be crumbly dough or be crispy throughout after baking. I'd check things out, measure exactly and try again. I believe they are worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
They are not soft, the dough is like graham cracker crumbs so you can't even form balls to bake. Not impressed and neither is my 3 year old who had the patience to make them with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My husband loved them. I also added a pinch of salt after reading a lot of reviews. I used butter not shortening. If you have health issues like myself, I would never use shortening in anything. Beat the butter (or shortening) with the sugar's until fluffy, then beat in the eggs and molasses. I cook and bake often and the thing that did get me a little confused is how they separated the flour and why? I will make these again. Wish I knew how to post a picture, but they look just like the recipe picture shows. Soft and yummy cookies. Just an additional comment here--I see they want to know if you tweaked the recipe at all and want you to pay a membership to tell them what you did. Hmmmm, seems to me if a person tweak's it to make it better why would a person want to pay to share it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Best. Cookie. Ever. I made the recipe as written except left out the cloves. The cookies stayed soft and chewy, and spread out just fine without flattening the balls at all. I did chill the dough for 30 minutes to make it easier to handle. I will make these over and over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
OMG best gingersnaps ever .... soft n chewy on the inside and crispy on the out .... my family won't eat any others. 5 Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina1970us

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These were wonderful! I made them exactly as instructed and they came out really well. The only recommendation I would make is to make sure the molasses is well mixed into the other ingredients. I had a few where the molasses had clumped a little and spilled out of the cookie, which then burned to the cookie sheet. But it only happened to two out of the 3 dozen...not bad. I used my electric mixer, which made this a super easy recipe. The dough was really easy to work with, and the final result was deliciously spiced for a Christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmcgl001

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Followed the directions to a T and the results were awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made these cookies last night and they didn't spread out and they were very dry. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
sorry, I followed the recipe and I have crisp cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
my family loved these cookies! I did add 1/4 tsp salt. I also used butter flavored Crisco shortening. I've already shared the recipe with my sister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States