Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is a good standard gingerbread recipe. People have to remember that molasses based cookie dough isn't the easiest dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I used this recipe for the first time this year and I will keep using it. These cookies were delicious. The dough was a little hard to work with but then again I didnt refrigerate it as my 3 year old was too excited to wait. I will definitely refrigerate it next time. I sprinkled flour on the counter and on the rolling pin and with a LOT of effort it rolled out fine for me to cut the shapes. Probably would have been less work had I chilled it first. Oh well, next time I will - and there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa J

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I love this recipe and got many compliments on it during the Christmas season. A great, mild, soft gingerbread. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were amazing. Not sweet at all, perfect gingerbread cookies. I used dark molasses. The cookies stayed soft for a week. My husband said they were the best gingerbread cookies he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My family and I made these cookies on christmas eve "for Santa" and they turned out great! I did not have to change the recipe as many people had said. I did however add a half a teason of orange extract for extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mProwler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Too many gingerbread cookie recipes are rock hard... this one is so much more enjoyable. Definitely use the "gingerbread frosting for cookies" with these cookies.. it gives them more flavor and a kick (kinda like "red-hots") Crumbly dough issue.. try molding the dough (like bread) before refrigerating.. this will distribute the moisture better, and allow for more consistency, less crumble.. and easier rolling. Flour: caution on the flour, use too much and you will have flour-powdered cookies.. when cooked the flour is still there. I like the rolling between wax paper suggestion (I will try that nex time). overall.. EASY recipe.. and enjoyable.. grab a glass of milk with these..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These gingerbread cookies are excellent! I was looking for a softer cookie and this is it. I did not read any of the reviews before I made these, because I found them in my Allrecipe cookie cookbook and not on this site. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. The only problem I had was when I was trying to get them off the cookie sheet--they were stuck, but came off with a thin spatula. I found that it was easier to get them off right after I took them out of the oven. To the reviewers who complained about these not being soft--gingerbread is different than other cookies. Normally it is dry and hard, these are soft and do not crunch when you bite into them. If yours came out hard, try putting them into a lock-n-lock plastic container for a few days. Gingerbread needs time, that's why in Europe it is made weeks before Christmas. I love the taste of these as well--they are not supposed to be sweet like many other American cookies. All in all, these were wonderful and I had no problems making them aside for the little problem mentioned above. I decorated mine with sliced almonds, walnut halves and raisins before I baked them and they look beautiful. I am going to hang some of them on my tree. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trencín, Trenciansky Kraj, Slovakia
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
After following the recipe exactly and cooling the so called dough for almost 3.5 hours it was crumbly and no where near ready to be rolled. I added almost another cup of water before it became rollable... all in all they tasted horrible and took way to long to make- this is not a good recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was the worst ever. I followed the directions exactly and the dough came out sticky and soft, even after I had refrigerated it. I was really disappointed because I couldn't cut out Gingerbread men, and now I'll have to bring something else to the party. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amnisiades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
The alternating reviews going from one star to four stars over and over had me intrigued enough to try this recipe. I upped the health quotient and the flavor by using some of the tips in past reviews. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour 1/2 all-purpose flour, about 1/4 c brown sugar and 1/4 c Splenda, I only had blackstrap molasses (good source of iron!), and I doubled all the spices except cloves. My cookies are soft and de-e-e-e-elicious! I had frozen some, and I just ate one straight out of the freezer - they're even good (and still soft!) that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States