Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These cookies were awsome. Baked them for the kids at school and they disappeared about as soon as I sat them on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I combined several suggestions on here. I doubled the spices, except the cloves. I substituted 1/2 cup of flour with whole wheat flour and used a full stick (1/2 c.) of butter. Also omitted the baking soda and used 2 tsp. baking powder. I used 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/2c. white sugar and added a tsp. of vanilla. I refrigerated for a half hour and just dropped the dough onto the cookie sheet and flattened with a glass bottom coated in cooking spray and sprinkled with sugar. I cooked for 6 minutes and pulled directly off the cookie sheet. Very yummy and chewy and great if you want a quick cookie to serve with morning coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I cannot understand how people said these cookies tasted like flour or really bland... I had no issue with these at all. Very easy to make, very easy to roll just a little problem with them sticking. I only baked them 6 mins and they came out perfect, they tasted great without anything on it but since I am taking them to a party I wanted to decorate them and I used the decorators icing from this site. I have to stop eating them or i will have none for the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
While much milder than I was hoping , I thought the cookies that resulted from this recipe were very tasty and that the recipe itself was quite easy. I had to add a few more drops of water to the dough to get it to stick together, but that is not atypical in baking (as anyone who has ever made a pie crust will tell you), but if you use a little common sense this recipe is quite fun and easy and what you end up with is a cookie that is pleasantly reminiscent of an animal cracker (only chewier). The other bit of advice I can offer is to not marry yourself to the 8-10 minute baking time, if the cookies are done before that, take them out. If the cookies seem to be hard when they cool, reduce the baking time (remember, cookies continue to cook after they come out of the oven, so a softer cookie can often be achieved by knocking a minute or two off of the baking time). The only other thing i can suggest is that you beat the butter and sugars together first then beat in the water, otherwise it'll be next to impossible to get a smooth mixture. In other words, keep an open mind with his recipe and you will be pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan W
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I've never been a lover of Gingerbread. I love to bake! Asked my coworkers what cookies they wanted, and one was Gingerbread! I voted soft gingerbread because I like soft cookies! I had never made gingerbread before so I took on the challenge. Yes the dough was dry, but no more dry then any rolled sugar cookie or sprtiz cookie. You just have to knead it a little in your hands and your good to go! I have already been asked by many people in the office for this recipe, and asked to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I make these cookies every year they are amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
they just need to be sweeter but these are great - soft and tasty. Added more spice as suggested by one reviewer. The dough was hard to work with but manageable. This is the recipe I will use every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
The only change I made was to add an egg for cookie stability once baked. These are wonderful cookies. Soft, moist, and not too strong in flavor. I like the fact that there is no shortening in this recipe. I also iced my cookies with vanilla tub frosting. It sets up well and rounds out the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethwalden3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
The secret to keeping these cookies soft and chewy is to roll out the dough on plastic wrap or wax paper while it’s still warm; then chill it before cutting into shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States