Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I tried this recipient last year, and it was extremely crumbly and dry, but I gave it another shot today and they turned out perfectly after adjusting a few things. Instead of 1/2 cup of white flour, I used whole wheat flour and I used 1/2 c. Brown sugar and 1/2 c. Sugar to make it a different kind if sweet. I also doubled all of the spices except the cloves and used 3/4 c. of molasses. The cookies turned out terrific! My family thought they were amazing, I wish I could have taken credit for the recipe. You just need to roll out the dough in between max paper or plastic wrap before chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I consider this recipe for healthy low fat cookies but I don't think I will come back to this one anytime soon. I doubled the butter and added oil to the dough. The cookies were soft when oven fresh but became hard to chew on after cooling. My dad can only eat the cookie w/ a warm glass of milk to soften it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe! Came out well this Christmas. I varied the thickness and cooking times a bit, which resulted in a good mix of thin and thick, softer and crispier, cookies. Would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These r the best gingerbread cookies i have ever had. And its so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I wanted to make my own gingerbread cookies along with my kids and I like them "soft". So came across this recipe! I did follow the directions, except for the chilling part. It was late in the evening when I started the preparing the dough. And after the dough was complete...It seemed a bit wet to be dough. So then not reading #3 in the directions before starting. I realized I had to chill it for a few hours. Hoping that after chilling it, It would firm up more, but the next day the consistency was the same. I don't know if chilling it longer then what the recipe called for had an effect. But I ended up adding more flour (wheat) that is. Also don't know if using the wheat flour made a difference either. Anyway I added the wheat flour to it. Would say a cup more and then rolled it out. I thought if they don't come out, then oh well. At least the kids got to decorate..lol By my surprise!!! These cookies came out awesome! I was really impressed. I was so concerned that they would taste like nothing but flour. Well they did NOT! They were soft, just as the recipe says! and yummy! I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
The worst cookie recipe I have ever made. 1/8 cup of butter is a bad idea. A scant 2 tablespoons of butter makes a dry crumbly mess. I added some moisture to get the crumbs to hold together. I used apple juice. I do not recommend this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
completely satisfied!!! much better than another one I used before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
i had my doubts ... i been re-searching for a good gingerbread cookies recipe but this recipe came out perfectly ... followed the recipe step by step and i did let the dough sit for overnight... my family and friends loved them.. i'm so ready for xmass..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisolbunnymagic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My husband thought this was the recipe he used last year, well he was mistaken!! I usually try to be nice with criticism, but I did not care for the taste of these. They make easy, perfect cutouts, but the flavor is just not there! Researched and remembered he had made the McCormick spice recipe last year and they are great tasting. A gingerbread cookie should be able to be eaten with or without icing as I enjoy and this recipe really have no sweetness. Great for decorating the tree LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My cookies turned out perfect! The dough was dry at first, but it was perfectly moist after it chilled for the three hours. This is a great recipe! I will be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States