Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
It worked for me! I followed the recipe, with a few adjustments. I substituted half the flour with whole wheat pastry, and instead of rolling out and cutting, I rolled a ball of dough between my palms, flattened it a little, then put on the cookie sheet. It puffed up, it spread a little, it didn't flatten out. The taste was mild, flavorful, not overly sweet. I did try making half the batch rolled in cinnamon sugar before baking and liked that a bit better. I also found I needed to cook them about 3-5 minutes longer. They tasted doughy and undercooked at the timing on the recipe. I agree with people who said they expect to have to adjust recipes a little sometimes. To me, that's a normal aspect of any work of art or craft, especially baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've been looking for a new recipe to try this Fall and my husband has been on my case about trying Gingerbread this year. I have never made it until last night. These cookies are to die for. I did change the recipe a little. When mixing the dough, I added 1 or 2 tablespoon of water to make the dough softer and easier to roll, I also adjusted the flour. I took the 1/4 cup out and just used 3 cups. They didn't taste floury at all and they were soft and didn't break easily either. This'll be my come to Fall recipe for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
They were soft as the title suggested but I was disappointed in the flavor. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemissmuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HJack
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't alter a thing and enjoyed the mild flavor of the cookies. Add a bit of royal icing as decoration and you'll have all the sweetness you need. The dough will be crumbly. Just be firm with it! Get your hands in there, use plenty of flour on your work surface, and roll until smooth. The cookies still had their softness on day 4, which is a win in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These did not work out! I had to add about 1/2 cup more water to the dough to make it stick together, and when I baked them (for 8 min.) they all got huge! Since they were so big they weren't done in the middle, so they didn't taste very good. They may have turned out better if I had baked them longer, but I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lettb
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I've made this a few times, it is delicious and fairly easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I tried this recipient last year, and it was extremely crumbly and dry, but I gave it another shot today and they turned out perfectly after adjusting a few things. Instead of 1/2 cup of white flour, I used whole wheat flour and I used 1/2 c. Brown sugar and 1/2 c. Sugar to make it a different kind if sweet. I also doubled all of the spices except the cloves and used 3/4 c. of molasses. The cookies turned out terrific! My family thought they were amazing, I wish I could have taken credit for the recipe. You just need to roll out the dough in between max paper or plastic wrap before chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I consider this recipe for healthy low fat cookies but I don't think I will come back to this one anytime soon. I doubled the butter and added oil to the dough. The cookies were soft when oven fresh but became hard to chew on after cooling. My dad can only eat the cookie w/ a warm glass of milk to soften it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe! Came out well this Christmas. I varied the thickness and cooking times a bit, which resulted in a good mix of thin and thick, softer and crispier, cookies. Would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These r the best gingerbread cookies i have ever had. And its so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States