Soft Ginger Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
They tasted OK the next day, but the effort was too much for an OK cookie. However, I did not find them too 'spicy' as others have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
The best gingerbread cookies I have ever tasted!! No taste is lost with this fat-free recipe! I will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe! I can't tell you how many times I have made these. I am on a low fat diet and it's hard to find a treat that I can still enjoy. These are so yummy and soft! I added a bit more ginger and they taste just like soft gingersnaps. YUM! Not to mention, we ended up making a haunted gingerbread house out of your recipe! I don't like the thought of wasting lots of eggs and butter on something you're never going to eat, so I used this recipe, baked it for 15 minutes and left the pieces out overnight to dry out. It worked out beautifully. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made the recipe and frosting just as written, and both were so excellent that you could not even tell they were low-fat! The frosting was a little strange to make, but worked beautifully for piping onto the cookies. The cookies were so moist and tasty as long as they weren't overbaked. You must make sure that you bake them only as long as the recipe states; baking them to long will yield an inedibly hard cookie! Next time I will use some whole wheat flour to make the cookies even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is the best! I made them for Christmas every year since 2005. My family would not be happy with out them. The Stronger the Coffee the better. Last year I made the coffee wtih a bean called jet fuel. The best yet. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palisade, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
I was most impressed with the results of the recipe. It does take a lot of work, but so do all cut-out cookies. The texture of the cookie was like that of regular gingerbread cookies; firm but not tough. The frosting recipe that came with it is perfect. It's sweet and sticky enough at first to hold sprinkles well, dries enough to make the cookies easy to store, but doesn't become too hard. The problems I did have with the recipe was that I had to use twice as much liquid to get the dough to hold together, and even had to spray it with water later, then re-flour to roll it. If this affected the final product, it didn't spoil it. I also used Post-um instead of coffee and found it was still good, though next time I will add more ginger to compensate for loss of flavor. This may seem like a lot of work and tinkering with the recipe, but it's well worth it to have a good, fat-free gingerbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The recipe's great, but the instructions could be a little better. First of all, my dough was very crumbly and difficult to stick together, even after adding two teaspoons of water to it. Second, it should be noted that the cookies expand significantly when baked, so leave lots of room between each gingerbread-person on the tray. Finally, for some reason I was never able to get the icing firm enough. It says to beat on high for 7 to 8 minutes: I beat on high for 20 minutes and it still didn't form stiff peaks. As a result, the icing ran a little on the cookies, making it very difficult to make faces, buttons, and the like. If you're short on time or simply want to avoid the mess, It's probably a better idea to buy the icing. Otherwise the cookies are delicious and low in fat - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I LOVE this recipe. Every time I make these cookies I get rave reviews. They are sooo moist and have that wonderful holiday feel to them. Great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisa, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
My family and I didn't care for these cookies. The spices were too strong and they were difficult to roll out. If you like strong flavor and cake-like cookies, you may like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
woo-hoo! a super delicious low-fat cookie! I'm giving it 5, because on my own, they were a four, but my guests LOVED them. I would use more spices than called for, the dough is plenty spicy, but once baked, it's not! Also this is some sticky dough, so roll it out between two sheets of wax paper to really get it laid out, or else flour your surfaces well. if you flour your rolling surface, brush off flour with an oiled pastry brush for better presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpicyChiliBabe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States