Soft Frosted Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
These are perfect. Follow recipe but refrigerate before rolling. Don't over mix. Roll thicker than normal for a softer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshleyK
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Good recipe, but the batter was too sticky to roll out. I added flour until it was sticky anymore, then rolled it (didn't measure). The cookies still turned out delicious and fluffy. I made heart shaped cookies for Valentine's Day and added food coloring to the frosting since it wasn't a pure white. Cookies are delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
So good! My dough was really sticky, so I didn't try to roll it out and cut it. Instead, I just rolled it into balls that I then flattened out onto the pan. They were super soft and sweet. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I made these for a 100th of school kindergarten party. I followed the recipe but followed the advice to roll them into 1" balls and then into sugar. I then flattened with a glass dipped in sugar. Made 40 cookies. The kids loved them and referred to them as "amazing"! They decorated them themselves. Will have to try the frosting next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is a great recipe!!! Finally the perfect sugar cookie. Next time will add some lemon zest, bUT amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These cookies are delicious! ! I did however use butter instead of shortening. They are not overly sweet which is perfect by the time you iced them ! I was able to roll them out with no problem after I chilled the dough and added flour to rolling surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe many times for our family and also several dozen at a time for our church. I keep getting requests to bring them again and again! I cut the milk in half and use butter flavored crisco instead of regular. We never cut shapes out of these (I agree the dough is too sticky for that), rather roll them into 3 tbsp sized balls and they are just round and fluffy and perfect for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
i made these today and they turned out well..i did tweek it a little like minus 2tbl of the shorting and added butter and added 1tsp cream of tarter and replaced the milk for butter milk these cookies do taste good icing taste good I added almond extract instead of vanilla and turned out great the cookie was soft but like other reviews I think its more like a cornbread texture I will keep thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I love the Loft House soft sugar cookies and they're my absolute favorite cookies in the world! I had a craving for them today so I decided to make them but I split the recipe in half. I used butter instead of shortening and took away about a 1/4 tsp salt. I added 1/8 tsp cream of tartar to the dough. I refrigerated the dough for half an hour and rolled the cookies into balls and pressed them down to 1/4" thickness with a glass. Baked them at 345 degrees F for about 8 minutes. They weren't as soft as the Loft House cookies and had a cornbread-like texture. The frosting wasn't really like a frosting, it was like a sweet grainy mixture. It had a very weird texture. These cookies were ok but did not taste like the storebought ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have always hated these frosted sugar cookies like the icky sweet kind you buy at the grocery store during holidays. I indugled my kids this St. Pat's because I hate all the dyes and ick that goes into the store bought ones. OMG! My little daughter begged me to try a bite and they were absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! If you like extra sweet, make these. They are easy and you can make them right away (no refridge needed). The frosting is excellent. Thank you for posting the recipe. BTW, you want to roll them out with extra flour, (as with most sugar cookies), this way, if dough is soft, you can add what you need and they won't sick while cutting out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tedsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States