Soft Frosted Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is my new favorite cut out and I agree that they were not too sweet. Perfect frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
My 8 year old son made these by himself and they were great. The recipe was very easy for him to follow - he used a cookie scoop instead of rolling out the dough & then pressed them flat with a glass dipped in sugar. He baked them for 12 minutes (slightly less time on a dark cookie sheet). The frosting was more of a paste than buttercream, so we added 2 teaspoons of shortening to make it fluffier. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
These are perfect. Follow recipe but refrigerate before rolling. Don't over mix. Roll thicker than normal for a softer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshleyK
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Good recipe, but the batter was too sticky to roll out. I added flour until it was sticky anymore, then rolled it (didn't measure). The cookies still turned out delicious and fluffy. I made heart shaped cookies for Valentine's Day and added food coloring to the frosting since it wasn't a pure white. Cookies are delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
So good! My dough was really sticky, so I didn't try to roll it out and cut it. Instead, I just rolled it into balls that I then flattened out onto the pan. They were super soft and sweet. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I made these for a 100th of school kindergarten party. I followed the recipe but followed the advice to roll them into 1" balls and then into sugar. I then flattened with a glass dipped in sugar. Made 40 cookies. The kids loved them and referred to them as "amazing"! They decorated them themselves. Will have to try the frosting next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is a great recipe!!! Finally the perfect sugar cookie. Next time will add some lemon zest, bUT amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These cookies are delicious! ! I did however use butter instead of shortening. They are not overly sweet which is perfect by the time you iced them ! I was able to roll them out with no problem after I chilled the dough and added flour to rolling surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe many times for our family and also several dozen at a time for our church. I keep getting requests to bring them again and again! I cut the milk in half and use butter flavored crisco instead of regular. We never cut shapes out of these (I agree the dough is too sticky for that), rather roll them into 3 tbsp sized balls and they are just round and fluffy and perfect for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
i made these today and they turned out well..i did tweek it a little like minus 2tbl of the shorting and added butter and added 1tsp cream of tarter and replaced the milk for butter milk these cookies do taste good icing taste good I added almond extract instead of vanilla and turned out great the cookie was soft but like other reviews I think its more like a cornbread texture I will keep thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States