Soft Frosted Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Mmm-mm-mm! As this recipe's first reviewer I can happily report that it is a winner! These are soft pillows of sugar cookie goodness, frosted with the most luxurious creamy, billowy buttercream. Melt in your mouth, not too sweet and pretty too. Perfect in my mind. Except… it’s a good thing that rolling out sugar cookies isn’t my thing and I had planned to roll these into balls and flatten them all along. This dough is so soft and so gooey that there is no way you could roll it out if you follow the recipe as written. And, since the dough is made with shortening, refrigerating it would do nothing to firm it up. If you are hell bent on rolling these out, you’ll have to add more flour. A better option? Just roll these into about 1” balls, roll in sugar, then flatten to about 1/4” with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. For soft cookies, bake until set but before they begin to turn brown around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great cookie! Pillowy soft! I used butter instead of shortening, decreased the salt to a half tsp. and used half of the frosting. I agree with the previous reviewer that these cookies are way to sticky to roll, so I used a round cookie scoop and dropped them directly onto the cookie sheet. My cookie scoop was quite large so I baked them for 14 minutes while not over baking! They were not at all flat and looked beautiful after frosting and topping with fall sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Really good! I made this recipe, following the review suggestions and because my husband likes sweeter frosting, I added 1/4 cup more powdered sugar and 2 more tbsp of milk. Simple, quick and toddler approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
AWESOME!!!I just plopped down 2 Tbls of dough, per cookie, onto a baking sheet and baked them that way ! They are SOOOOO yummy!!!! I will definatley make this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnygeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
yummy these cookies are the best i feel loved with all the compliments i got!!!!=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These are the best cookies I have ever ate! I made them to take to Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved them. They were kid, grandma, and boyfriend approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I cut these in two and filled them with a lime frosting, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Definitely a keeper. For the comments the batter was too sticky, I put in it the fridge for about 30 minutes. Stiffened it up and the rolling was easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
DEEE-LISH!!! These cookies are addictive and really easy! I also decreased the salt to 1/2 tsp. I did some drop cookies and also rolled some out. Just refrigerate the dough for an hour or so before you roll them. Turned out absolutely perfect & I'm really picky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This recipe came out EXACTLY like Loft cookies. So soft and delicious! I didn't use the frosting recipe on this page because 3 cups of confectioners sugar sounded like a TON! But none the less, cookies are amazing. Didn't change a thing about the recipe. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States