Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
These are really good. They keep their shape and are soft another thing I prefer in sugar cookies. Eating rocks is just not my thing. I have also tried the other recipes on all recipes. This is the BEST> HANDS DOWN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lexie
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Mixed results. This is the first time I've tried making this type of cookie. I followed the recipe. The dough was very hard to work with, very dry and crumbly, it took so long to roll and cut out the cookies. After 8 minutes in the oven they didn't look done at all, and since I like a crispy cookie I let them in til the tips started to brown. This however was a big mistake as the cookies turned out as hard as a rock! I was determined to try again. The next time I followed the advice of Tara1972 (melted butter, 3 cups flour, 350) and the cookies turned out just right! Soft and flavorful! I only let them chill for 50 minutes and they still came out just right and in time for the party. Happy 4th of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Very tasty and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I left out a bit of the flour, substituted some brown sugar for the white (1/4 cup) and mixed in some sprouted whole wheat flour for nutrition purposes. i melted the butter completely before mixing. and a few other modifications for my family's preferences. all around as is or modified this is a great base recipe for chewy cookies i make snicker-doodles, sugar, and chocolate chip cookies with this dough. double the batch and make multiple types of cookies in one swoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Excellent cookie! I halved the recipe and got about 27 heart-shaped cookies. I cut back a tad on the sugar, as I usually do. Followed some recommendations of using butter and baked at the lower temp of 350 for about 9 min. Another recommendation which I followed was cutting back on the flour (by ~ 1/4 cup), since you're using some when rolling out. I rolled the dough a little thicker because I didn't want too crispy cookies. Nice flavor which you could also change out with lemon extract or whatever. I iced them with Sugar Cooking Icing from this site. This is a cookie keeper! Thanks Georgie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
As written the dough was dry and crumbly and almost impossible to use. We salvaged it enough to make a dozen and cut back the cooking time. The only positive was that the cookies held their cut out shapes well. I usually make cookies with butter but these tasted just slightly off with margarine. My intent was to make a cookie with less dairy in it. I will try using 3c of flour next time and up the vanilla perhaps to help offset the margarine notes I detected. Definitely follow the modifications offered by others if you want to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
A very good cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Perfect!!!!! Cookies hold their shape. Taste is good you can add flavors and make different. Great to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These were great! I did adjust the flour and cook time per other reviews but they really came out lovely! Thanks for making sugar cookies feel worth it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
FANTASTIQUE!!! Thumbs up recipe. This recipe is the best I've tryed in like Forever! I do agree with using butter instead of margarine, preheating the oven to 350 for 8-10 minutes instead of 6-8 minutes at 400 and using 3 cups of flour instead of 4. When you make those changes it's like I'm eating a cloud. A soft, tasty cloud. Also, when you add icing onto it, it's so yummy! I recommend this recipe for any special occasion or anything even if it's just seeing friends. I definitely rate this 5 stars. And this is an old recipe from around 2002 so EXELLENT work. 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States