Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Excellent cookie! I halved the recipe and got about 27 heart-shaped cookies. I cut back a tad on the sugar, as I usually do. Followed some recommendations of using butter and baked at the lower temp of 350 for about 9 min. Another recommendation which I followed was cutting back on the flour (by ~ 1/4 cup), since you're using some when rolling out. I rolled the dough a little thicker because I didn't want too crispy cookies. Nice flavor which you could also change out with lemon extract or whatever. I iced them with Sugar Cooking Icing from this site. This is a cookie keeper! Thanks Georgie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
As written the dough was dry and crumbly and almost impossible to use. We salvaged it enough to make a dozen and cut back the cooking time. The only positive was that the cookies held their cut out shapes well. I usually make cookies with butter but these tasted just slightly off with margarine. My intent was to make a cookie with less dairy in it. I will try using 3c of flour next time and up the vanilla perhaps to help offset the margarine notes I detected. Definitely follow the modifications offered by others if you want to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
A very good cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Perfect!!!!! Cookies hold their shape. Taste is good you can add flavors and make different. Great to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These were great! I did adjust the flour and cook time per other reviews but they really came out lovely! Thanks for making sugar cookies feel worth it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
FANTASTIQUE!!! Thumbs up recipe. This recipe is the best I've tryed in like Forever! I do agree with using butter instead of margarine, preheating the oven to 350 for 8-10 minutes instead of 6-8 minutes at 400 and using 3 cups of flour instead of 4. When you make those changes it's like I'm eating a cloud. A soft, tasty cloud. Also, when you add icing onto it, it's so yummy! I recommend this recipe for any special occasion or anything even if it's just seeing friends. I definitely rate this 5 stars. And this is an old recipe from around 2002 so EXELLENT work. 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalia83
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Love it! i made it with my kids (6&2) and we have a great time! dough is very very handle. Recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Super soft, great taste. A favorite every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vivian
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Best soft cookie recipe for icing cookies I have tried! I took the suggestions about using butter vs. margarine, baking at 300 degrees, and cutting the flour amount down to 1 cup. The cookies turned out perfectly and everyone who has tried them has enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States