Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I think the dough for these wonderful cookies would be very difficult to make without a stand mixer, or a good strong will and some major elbow grease. Almost all of the negative reviews complain that the dough is too dry or there is too much flour, however the large quantity of flour is essential to get a dense, soft cookie like the Lofthouse cookies at the store. You have to really work it to get all the dry ingredients incorporated (hence the importance of a stand mixer). The dough is very stiff. Before you stick it the fridge to chill, work it into a single ball/mass. Note: your cookies will turn out and taste fine if you substitute butter for the margarine or shortening, but the butter will cause them to be crisper. All things considered,this is hands-down the best, simplest, and easiest to manipulate cutout cookie recipe I have ever tried, and I have tried a lot. I used half butter and half shortening and chilled the dough overnight. I rolled them out directly onto parchment paper so I didn't have to add much additional flour at all, and I baked them in a convection oven for 7 minutes exactly. Beautiful, dense, soft, pale, sugar cookie perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
It was really hard at first, but I added some more milk, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Only good if icing is added. Otherwise very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe for soft sugar cookies that hold their shape. I bake them at 375 degrees for 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was so good with the 3 cups flour. I loved the taste. One trick I learned last year was to place the dough in a ziplock bag and roll it out to fill the bag. Then when you are ready, slit the bag along two sides and cut off a chunk to roll out. Didn't really need much more rolling and used powdered sugar so it would work back into the unused portion and not make it tough. Quick and easy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERDANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
These were very good and easy to make. They will definitely be my decorating cookie of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Tasted great! Very easy to roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States