Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
As written this was a mess. I like to review as recipe as written if possible the first time I make it. The dough was dry and crumbly and almost impossible to use. I would have thrown it away had my three year old not been helping me, anxious to use his new cookie cutters. We salvaged it enough to make a dozen and cut back the cooking time. The only positive was that the cookies held their cut out shapes well. I usually make cookies with butter but these tasted just slightly off with margarine. My intent was to make a cookie with less dairy in it. I will try using 3c of flour next time and up the vanilla perhaps to help offset the margarine notes I detected. Definitely follow the modifications offered by others if you want to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
A very good cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Perfect!!!!! Cookies hold their shape. Taste is good you can add flavors and make different. Great to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These were great! I did adjust the flour and cook time per other reviews but they really came out lovely! Thanks for making sugar cookies feel worth it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
FANTASTIQUE!!! Thumbs up recipe. This recipe is the best I've tryed in like Forever! I do agree with using butter instead of margarine, preheating the oven to 350 for 8-10 minutes instead of 6-8 minutes at 400 and using 3 cups of flour instead of 4. When you make those changes it's like I'm eating a cloud. A soft, tasty cloud. Also, when you add icing onto it, it's so yummy! I recommend this recipe for any special occasion or anything even if it's just seeing friends. I definitely rate this 5 stars. And this is an old recipe from around 2002 so EXELLENT work. 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalia83
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Love it! i made it with my kids (6&2) and we have a great time! dough is very very handle. Recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Super soft, great taste. A favorite every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vivian
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Best soft cookie recipe for icing cookies I have tried! I took the suggestions about using butter vs. margarine, baking at 300 degrees, and cutting the flour amount down to 1 cup. The cookies turned out perfectly and everyone who has tried them has enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I have used this recipe for the last few years, but every year I can't remember if I use butter or the margarine that is called for. This year I tried melting the butter as reviewers suggested....NEVER again! This made the cookies hard as a rock! Still love the flavor and they worked great for stained glass cookies too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kimball, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dix, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States