Soft Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe. My girls are dairy free (sadly) so we just sub out the butter for fake stuff and omit the choc chips. DELICIOUS. A big hit at parties too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Yummy cookie but not cake like. I would describe it as a brownie cookie. Omitted confectioners sugar because it was omitted from directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I make this recipe often for gifts, and it's very popular! I don't add the chocolate chips - with a good quality cocoa, chips are overkill. As with any kind of soft-style cookie, the trick is to cook it until the top is just set. It will continue to harden out of the oven, and end up the perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very good! I will use again and again! Deb Ferris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Neris
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I like this recipe a lot. I only add a lit bit of milk (1/8 cup) at the end to soften the dough, so it spreads easily while at the oven. I don't mix the chocolate chips, instead I put five or six of them on top of the dough balls. And the most important thing of all: to bake soft cookies you need to use insulated pan sheet, so the cookies don't burn on the bottom. I don't have insulated pan sheet, so I use 2 regular pans, one on top of each other, then I put a parchment paper. I ake them for 10 minutes only, and then I slide the parchment paper into a cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I liked this recipe but based on the reviews, made a few adjustments. Seeing that in general the dough falls and leaves a crunch cookie, I added about 1/3 cup of peanut butter (I used crunchy). I also put peanuts in mine instead of chocolate chips. I found it also helped to bake at 340 for the ten mins instead of 350 and please make sure your oven rack is in the very top position so that the source of heat isn't right on the bottoms. I did use the confectioners' sugar. Someone mentioned it wasn't in the directions, but it is. The directions say to sprinkle it on when the cookies were warm. I found it added just the right little extra touch of sweetness. Mine turned out soft and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I was very disappointed. My picky son doesn't like crunchy anything, so I was excited to see a soft chocolate cookie recipe. This wasn't ANYTHING like cake, it came out thin and crispy. The ones I took out early fell apart on the the cooling rack and still crisped up when they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
These were good! I was lazy an needed a dessert to take to my moms house so i baked them in my brownie pan an it was a hit! frosted them with a chocolate buttercream yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Everyone in the family liked this cookie! We chilled the dough for 2 hours before rolling into balls and then rolling in the powdered sugar. In doing this, it yielded 4 dozen instead of three! They seem a little flat, so I might try tweaking some of the ingredients next time to get them to be a puffy cookie, which is what I was looking for this time. The taste is very good. Oh...did not use the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mondamin, Iowa, USA
Living In: Onawa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Thanks for the recipe - this is my goto chocolate cookie recipe. I followed the recipe as written (forgot the powdered sugar!!) and they came out great. Bonus points - boyfriend gave them the thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States