Soft Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I think I totally screwed this up. This recipe needs to be rewritten to state that 1/2c of sweetened condensed milk is needed instead of a can. Because I put in a can not realizing that it called for 5oz can instead of a 12oz can. So now I basically have roater pan full of mess. I am glad I made this early instead of planning on taking this over to a friends house on New Years Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I made this tonight and really liked it. I've tried a few other recipes, but they all turned out crunchy, and I like my caramel corn soft and gooey. This did the trick! Sweet and buttery and sticky. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is a good recipe. I am one of those crazy people though that does not use a microwave anymore, so microwave popcorn was out. I popped my own. When I finished mixing it all up it didn't taste quite right. I realized it was missing a salty flavor form the prebuterd and salted microwave popcorn. Solution, salt your caramel corn after you mix it up. Go easy and salt to taste. Then it is great. A little sweet and salty. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
When I cook I don't follow the ingredients exactly. In this recipe I cooked the popcorn on the stove, and more than the recipe called for, then salted it. I added the caramel to small amounts of the popcorn until it was as gooey as we like it. I do not have a candy thermometer, so I tested it by putting the caramel in cold water. Cooking it as long as it says was too long. It got hard too fast and that made it very chewy. The second time I cooked it til it made a very soft ball. This was much better. This does make a very large batch and is hard to eat the second day. Unless you are making this for a large crowd, half the recipe. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I have tried all sorts of recipes for caramel corn lately. My mom made soft caramel corn when I was younger, but it requires golden syrup I cannot buy around here. I really do not like crunchy caramel corn. It reminds me of the boxed stuff. No thanks! This recipe was super easy and I was 100% pleased with the result. Better yet, I don't have to bake it! I did add some peanuts, though. When this caramel corn cooled down, I put it in small zipper bags and stuck them in the freezer. I can grab one for a snack, but I usually share it with the entire family. We all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Lusk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scobey, Montana, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This was great. My family loved it. I added vanilla and cinnamon for flavor. I also used fat free condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My husband and I are enjoying a "snow day" today and I decided to make this recipe. It is WONDERFUL! It was extremely easy to make and is a decadent treat to enjoy on a cold day. I did Halve the recipe and still had more than enough for the 2 of us. If you love caramel make this, you won't be sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Everybody loved this, however I only had to heat my caramel to 205 degrees, also I added vanilla extract after removing it from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I made this using only half the amount called for of the caramel ingredients, and added 2 tsp vanilla when I added the condensed milk. It came out perfect! If I had added as much caramel as the recipe calls for, it would have been way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This caramel corn was awesome. It was the messiest gooeyist popcorn in I've ever had but well worth the mess! I added a little cinnamon to the caramel sauce to give it some spice.The only drawback is it makes ALOT and it doesn't taste very good the next day. You have to eat it all right away. Plus it is on the messy side, but it's the perfect messy, gooey snack for a movie night in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States