Soft Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Everybody loved this, however I only had to heat my caramel to 205 degrees, also I added vanilla extract after removing it from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I made this once and liked it, but it was a little too rich...so the next time I made it, I substituted in 1 1/4 cup of white sugar + 1 cup brown sugar and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Review per my nine year old son: " Man, this stuff is goooooood! It's gone in two seconds!" I halved the recipe and poured it over one bag of microwave popcorn. So easy and so good. I don't use any baking soda because the microwave popcorn has plenty of butter and salt already added. This is ooey gooey and oh so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my2boysmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
LOL I can't stop smiling and giggling. If you are almost 10 months pregnant like me or otherwise hormonal and in search of something sweet, gooey and downright sinful than this is for you! I did make some minor changes based on what other people said about the flavor and things I just always add to my carmel corn but this was really really good! I think there are just a few too many food snobs on here. First I added half a teaspoon of salt and used salted butter. At the end I removed the carmel from heat and added some vanilla and a little baking soda (expands the volme for equal coverage and adds a lot of the salty flavor people said this recipe lacks) I will be making this again but because it makes so much I'll save it for the holidays or for when we have overnight guests. This will take a while to eat. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Great recipe! I was looking for a caramel corn recipe that didn't end up like the stuff in the box with the prize. This was more like the microwave caramel corn act II used to make with the caramel wafer you melt over the popcorn. I made 1/2 the recipe, and it was a lot! I only added a splash of vanilla at the end of cooking, and it tasted great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was absolutely fantastic! I think I ate it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner until it was gone. It does lose the softness, but a few seconds in the microwave takes care of that. I would definitely suggest spreading it out on wax paper or something before it hardens, or else it is impossible to pull some off. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
this is so yummy-the kids and I couldn't stop eating it!!! The only thing I did differently was I didn't add all of the caramel-I added to the point that I thought looked good and stopped there. It was exactly what I was looking for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I totally messed up the directions and it still came out good! I accidently put the condensed milk in at the same time as the other ingredients and so it just took a very long time for the caramel to get to the right temperature. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I have tried all sorts of recipes for caramel corn lately. My mom made soft caramel corn when I was younger, but it requires golden syrup I cannot buy around here. I really do not like crunchy caramel corn. It reminds me of the boxed stuff. No thanks! This recipe was super easy and I was 100% pleased with the result. Better yet, I don't have to bake it! I did add some peanuts, though. When this caramel corn cooled down, I put it in small zipper bags and stuck them in the freezer. I can grab one for a snack, but I usually share it with the entire family. We all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Lusk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scobey, Montana, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
When I cook I don't follow the ingredients exactly. In this recipe I cooked the popcorn on the stove, and more than the recipe called for, then salted it. I added the caramel to small amounts of the popcorn until it was as gooey as we like it. I do not have a candy thermometer, so I tested it by putting the caramel in cold water. Cooking it as long as it says was too long. It got hard too fast and that made it very chewy. The second time I cooked it til it made a very soft ball. This was much better. This does make a very large batch and is hard to eat the second day. Unless you are making this for a large crowd, half the recipe. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States