Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Excellent! Came out perfect! This is the real deal! My local latin market was out of ajies dulces-so I used red peppers instead. Made the difference with my habiculeas rojas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Just an idea to save time when cooking. I make my sofrito in bulk and I freeze it in ice cube trays. I have trays dedicated to do just this. Once they are frozen I bag them and keep them in the freezer. When ready to cook I pull out one or two cubes (each cube should be about one tablespoon). Freezing it will preserve the flavor and it will last longer. I learned this from my mother and it really works well. When I make my bulk I share with my daughters and they do the same with it. I don't add salt to the sofrito recipe until I am ready to cook. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
So this is what Sofrito, is supposed to taste like. I always wondered why my rice and beans didn’t taste like that of my PR friends. I guess I can get rid of the GOYA. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This is such an important seasoning...it's the stuff that makes you wonder "what is that taste?" It's soooo good! The only difference between this recipe and mine is that I don't use green bell pepper, instead I use Cubanelle peppers (I've also seen them called Italian peppers or Italian Frying Peppers). It's a long light green pepper and it's got a much better flavor than green bell pepper. I also don't add salt and pepper (I add those when I actually cook with it). If you don't want red bell pepper or tomato...leave them out and what you have left is a mixture called "Recaito"...I use recaito when I make habichuelas (bean stew). I have very picky friends and relatives but whenever I make my arroz con gandules (yellow rice with pigeon peas) or arroz con maiz (yellow rice with sweet corn)....they have 2 or 3 servings, and what makes them taste so good is sofrito baby! USE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Woohoo! No more Goya sofrito for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
My aunt owns a Puerto Rican store where she makes homemade sofrito to sell. The ingrdients posted are the same as hers and maybe not exactly like hers but it is AWESOME! Anyone who cooks with store bought jarred sofrito will be blown away by the homemade stuff. I absolutely refuse to buy the processed stuff anymore. I am very happy to see this recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is it! This is really the stuff! It is a little differant that I am used to, but I am not sure what the differance is. I use Sofrito on EVERYTHING. I think it goes with everything, but perhaps that is because it is supposed to! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
SOME OF THESE INGREDIENTS I DID NOT HAVE ON HAND, SO I OMITTED THEM. IT STILL TURNED OUT AWSOME! (- RED PEPPER, - AJIES DULCES, - RECAO OR CULANTRO) I THINK THESE ITEMS WERE MEANT TO BE SUBSTITUTES IF YOU READ TOWARDS THE BOTTOM OF THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This almost the one, except you don't add tomato until find out if you need it in the recipe. We've solved this by making one of each. It can be placed in small containes, labelled and frozen until ready for use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Grilled Corn Salad

Delicious summer salad with corn and vegetables.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States