Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this last night and I haven't felt so "Puerto Rican" in a long time...lol! I did omit the tomato's...i remember my mom never put tomato in it and didn't find the aji dulce so I used the italian peppers. It smelled so good in the house. I loved it. I froze some in an ice cube tray and put the rest in containers. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Delicious! The kitchen smelled wonderful while I was preparing this. I opened up a jar of store-bought sofrito just to compare the aroma~ the homemade stuff smelled incredible next to the jar. I used this in Fivebrigs recipe for habichuelas and puerto rican rice. Excellent!***a quick update. I just used some of the sofrito that I froze, and i do not find the flavor nearly as robust as the fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
i'M NOT A BIG FAN OF PUERTO RICAN SOFRITO PUT THIS IS OKAY. THIS PR SOFRITO DOES NOT LOOK GOOD(GREEN) BUT IT TASE BETTER THAN IT LOOKS. .i AM LOOKING FOR A 5 STAR SOFRITO LIKE MY BEST FRIEND MAMA (MARRGO) JUST MAKE. I REALLY MISS HER AND HER COOKING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This is a very good puerto rican sofrito. Wish I could fine a cuban sofrito as good as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I loved this recipe. I am a NYer who grew up on spanish foods. So when I came across this recipe I tried it. My rice and beans thank you. Arroz con pollo me gusta even more LOL! I only gave it 4 stars because I added more garlic and used goya sazon con annatto(4packs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
there is nothing like homemade sofrito just the smell of it when i add it to my food is insane. store bought sofrito is BAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pookieschmoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aguadilla, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Very very simple to make. Took just minutes to finish this one. Strong cilantro flavor. I didn't have recao or ajies dulces, and used red tomatoes. This is really good stuff. Used it to make Habichuelas Guisadas and Carne Guisada III. Also wonderful with tortilla chips and as a condiment for a bowl of chili con carne (that's what my teenager did). Mine didn't turn out with that beautiful green color in the picture by latina cook, but the flavor was out of this world! A keeper.... Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Excellent! Came out perfect! This is the real deal! My local latin market was out of ajies dulces-so I used red peppers instead. Made the difference with my habiculeas rojas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Just an idea to save time when cooking. I make my sofrito in bulk and I freeze it in ice cube trays. I have trays dedicated to do just this. Once they are frozen I bag them and keep them in the freezer. When ready to cook I pull out one or two cubes (each cube should be about one tablespoon). Freezing it will preserve the flavor and it will last longer. I learned this from my mother and it really works well. When I make my bulk I share with my daughters and they do the same with it. I don't add salt to the sofrito recipe until I am ready to cook. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
So this is what Sofrito, is supposed to taste like. I always wondered why my rice and beans didn’t taste like that of my PR friends. I guess I can get rid of the GOYA. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States