Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I love, love, love this recipe. I took the advice to make it in bulk and freeze it in ice cube trays and store the cubes in a plastic bag. It makes the arroz con pollo meal much easier that way. It doesn't lose flavor when you use the sofrito frozen. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is it! The real deal! Best sofrito recipe on the internet. Instead of going crazy and peeling 3 garlic heads worth of cloves, I buy them already peeled and use 15 cloves per garlic, so in this recipe, it'd be 15x3=45 garlic cloves. I also used Italian green peppers instead of bell and 1 sweet Italian red pepper. The amount is also perfect to pass out to a few family members as well. I enjoy sharing the wealth lol! This sofrito smells divine, and tastes amazing!! I cooked it with pernil. Mouth watering! Was a hit with my family. Bon appetit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I seldom make a review, but had to take a moment to give a BIG Thank You for this recipe! Thanks so very much for sharing this! If I could I'd give you a hug....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Great recipe!! If you look at it compared to Goya, consider this: when you make your own you have no preservatives and especially no MSG. Almost all Goya seasonings have MSG which is why I am always on the lookout for recipes to make my own. The reviews for this are awesome, can't wait to make it. Thanks so much for the recipe. (FYI, MSG has a lot of "aliases"...yeast extract, autolyzed soy protein, they can even call it "natural flavoring"...it's crazy, and hard if you are avoiding it.) Thanks to the person who suggested ice cubes also...great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Esta receta como hacer un buen "Sofrito" Es la mejor para darme buen gusto al mi arroz con pollo y con gandulez tendremos que aprender de usted muchas personas cracias por sus recetas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I have made this sofrito twice and I really love it....very flavorful. I use it in all Latin recipes that I make that call for sofrito
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI149

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I make this a couple times a year and keep about 1/2 cup in baggies to throw in soup, stew, even chili. It makes everything so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very good! the only thing I added were 4 tomatillos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Thanks for posting this recipe. I've been trying to perfect my sofrito for a while now, and your proportions are dead on! Great job! For those who don't know, this seasoning/sauce is the base flavor used in most Puerto Rican cooking. My mom used to hand chop her sofrito every night, but big batches are the way of our generation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEBOOGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Woodside, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
All the ingredients are there but the tomato, salt and pepper don't go with it. Tomato because some recipes don't use tomato. Salt and pepper because some people don't use salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

How to Make Harissa

See how to make Chef John’s all-time favorite hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States