Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is the definitive sofrito recipe! This was my first time ever making sofrito. I ended up making more than the recipe, most of which I froze. I could not find the ajies dulces so omitted them. I used a hand blender and it worked! It would have been too time consuming to blend each batch in blender as I do not have a food processor. I also added olive oil and (1) packet of Sazon Goya with achiote. First dish I made with this was Arroz Junto (not on this website) with smoked sausage and pinto beans. It is true, the smell is out of this world when cooking with sofrito. Thanks FIVEBRIGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I love Sofrito!!! Sometimes I add more tomatoes and a little more red pepper for a beautiful red color. This makes rice taste awesome! and other things like chopped meat, turkey or beef. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is a deceptive seasoning. It smells like it is going to be a lot spicier than it actually tastes. Very easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dare2BDifferent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Port Tobacco, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was great! and fantastically good for my arroz con gandules. I would take out the tomatoes and add 1/4 cup of olive oil so it would last long. I always use this stuff and keep them frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
As part of a social studies assignment, the kids tried several different recipes from the Caribbean. We made this with our black beans and it was so good, we saved the extra to use with some other dishes. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Now this is a sofrito recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Can't wait to add this seasoning base to my cooking! I had this on a slow roasted pork shoulder and fell in love with the taste! I'm not Puerto Rican, but I love good food!!! Thanks for the recipe.Keep sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great recipe! It reminds me of the one my mother used to make for habichuelas rosadas (from San Sebastian)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivan T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe. My fam. recipe leaves out the tomatoes for the sofrito. We usually just buy tomato paste and add it to the dishes accordingly (as some don't required as much tomato taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Kiki

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
this is how i do it except the tomato. no tomato if what your cooking calls for tomato flavor or color add no salt tomato sauce in the little cans. !!! que linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoenixMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamberlain, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

How to Make Harissa

See how to make Chef John’s all-time favorite hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States