Soda Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Very good! I cut the butter and brown sugar to 1 cup. I believe my jelly roll pan holds roughly 36 crackers. Next time I will spray my foil generously as it was a bit difficult to remove the foil from some parts of the candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
A friend suggested I make this a couple of weeks ago. I've made three in the meantime switching between semisweet and milk chocolate. The last one I made half and half. This is a new family favourite and won't be made just at Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I made this candy and was excited about how easy it was. Used tin foil and was disappointed when I went to break it up and foil wouldn't come off bottom had to throw the whole thing away! I may try again because it was easy but ill use parchment or spray should add that to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
So, the first time I made this, I made the mistake of not using real butter, I used Imperial Spread which made the candy taste like butter candy (not in a good way); Rookie Mistake. I also did not wait for a rolling boil to start counting the 3 min timeframe. The last time I made this, I also made the mistake of overlapping the foil instead of folding them together which made a mess of my cookie sheet. It still came out okay and people liked it. I tried it again last night for a Secret Santa gift and I made sure to use Unsalted Butter, start the 3 minute timeframe from a rolling-boil, and used NO STICK foil, and they came out fantastic! I handed them out to my co-workers and they could not believe I made them! The diretor of my company has requested this candy as his X-mas gift. I am definitely making this again and again!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I had just finished making the JIF buckeyes (peanut butter balls) and had some leftover melted chocolate that I didn't want to waste, so I added more chocolate, remelted it all and after the toffee had baked I just poured and spread the melted chocolate over it and sprinkled with chopped almonds. It turned out great and I think maybe it was easier using already tempered(melted) chocolate. Good recipe tho and nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I've been making this for a couple of years since my aunt gave me the recipe verbally. I'm so glad I now have a hard copy to follow! I toasted some chopped pecans and threw them on top and they turned out great- you really can put anything on top of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
The first tome I made this I either cooked the mixture too long or left the crackers in the oven a little too long, and it tasted a little overdone with too little toffee remaining. It takes some time to figure it out based on your oven/stove, but it's yummy when you do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
A friend gave me a variation of this recipe, which only calls for 1/2 cup butter, seemed to turn out OK for me. Her recipe didn't have nuts (good for me, as I am allergic) and used 1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 bag of peanut butter chips, a nice variation if you really like PB & chocolate as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferRT66

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
this is a holiday fun treat for us every year! very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Got sooo amany raves about this!! No one can guess it's made with Saltines!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States