Soda Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
My recipe for the same calls for only one cup butter, one cup brown sugar, and one bag of chips. The most important thing to remember is to make sure that you bring it to a boil AND THEN set your timer for 3 minutes. My mum still hasn't figured that part out yet. (hers separates in the fridge-- still tasty, but poor texture) Everyone loves it, and it is so very simple! I put mine on cinnamon grahams sometimes... they're a little sweeter. My favourite is still the saltines, though! You can also toss a handful of white chocolate chips on top with the dark chocolate, and swirl... it makes them very pretty. I have relatives who are allergic to nuts, so I just sprinkle holiday jimmies on top, too. Very versatile, and ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS! Also of note, try the Reynold's No Stick foil to line your pan! It works with no additional effort! I use it for EVERYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALLYKFANATIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Snow Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I have made this recipe for years. I would note that using a 10 X 15 JELLYROLL pan (with sides) is ideal. I use only 1 Cup butter and sugar and 1 pkg chocolate chips. Sprinkle the chips on right after you take it out of the oven, let sit for just a minute to soften the chocolate chips and then using a spatula, spread the chocolate to completly cover the toffee. Then add either nuts, sprinkles or even another flavor baking chips. I use sprinkles for whatever occasion/holiday I am making this for. If using other two kinds of chips, swirl it to give it a marble effect, don't worry about the toffee it can take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. But I only use 1 C butter, 1 C brown sugar, and 1 bag chocolate chips. I like to use milk chocolate chips because it makes the recipe sweeter. I also line the pan with parchment paper, because when you do it with tin foil it sticks to the bottom and if you accidently bite into a piece of tin foil it HURTS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This tasted fantastic. I used pecans instead of the almonds. I would recommend revising the recipe and add that you need to put a non-stick spray on the foil before you put the crackers down. I had the aluminum foil stick terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I have been making this recipe for years and my family and friends just love it! My recipe calls for 1 cup of butter and 1 cut of brown sugar. To help with the sticking problem, I use the non-stick aluminum foil or lightly spray aluminum foil with a non-stick spray. I have absolutely no problem removing the candy with the prepared foil. Enjoy and make plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
My family loved the taste of this. Make sure your crackers fit the whole pan. I had about half a cracker width left, and decided to leave it that way. When I took it out of the oven, my crackers were floating, and swimming around the sheet. I will also add less chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I also used the cup of butter and cup of brown sugar. I also leave out the nuts. With this recipe butter is a must. Margarine if you absolutely can't but, never tub margarine. It contains water and ruins just about everything you cook with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This a great recipe! It is so good I give it as gifts at Christmas time. I put it in clear little bags. I have to force myself to not eat before I have it bagged. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
My kids couldn't wait the 3 hours. I used another reviewers advice and spunked them up for the kids with sprinkles. Even tried butterscotch chips and white chocolate. The kids said they tasted like ice cream!? I was looking up an icing recipe and came across this. Thank you! (We are stuck in the house from snow!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Everyone who tried this loved it! It is so easy to make. I did use a bigger sheet than what is called for - makes it thinner and easier to break. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States