Sock it to Me Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Great recipe, just needs a little tweaking. Back oven temp down to 325, bake for 70(seventy) minutes, I like 1tbs cinnamon to 1 1/2tbs, and I added and extra 1/2tsp of vanilla. It came out awesome, very popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
First of all I wish that when posting these recipes the information given is correct. When baking time is off, and ingredients aren't to the letter making a quality product is next to impossible. I baked this cake as instructed, and the result was terrible. 90 minutes is way too long for this cake to bake, and I do not know if it was a mistake but 3 and I love cinnamon, tablespoons of cinnamon is a bit much. And not only that but after baking for an hour the crust was hard, and the cake was dry. I wasted 20 dollars on ingredients, and was less than pleased. If I try it again I'll deffinitely make modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Great recipe! My cake turned out beautifully. The 90 minute baking time is WAY too long for this cake. Mine was completely baked in 45 minutes. I used cake flour instead of all purpose flour and I used 12 ounces of sour cream. I also drizzled a glaze of milk and confectioner's sugar on the slightly warm cake. Everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
A very good cake. I curious if there was a typo on the cinnamon. It was a bit much for my taste. Next time I will use 3 tsp. instead of the 3 tbsp that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darwin
Home Town: Edna, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
easy to make and tasty, will use as a coffee cake in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was the best from-scratch cake I have ever made. We all loved the smooth, light texture and the cinnamon/sugar/nuts filling. I did reduce the cinnamon to 1 Tbsp. instead of 3, otherwise it would have been a bit too strong. Other than that, this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I love this recipe b/c it is made from scratch and it's amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly except the baking time. I only baked 1 hour but the cake is still very dry. It has a good taste but it is just not a moist cake. If I bake the cake again, I will only bake for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is basically a sour cream pound cake with a strip of nuts and spice in the center. The flavor of the cake is very good, but it came out a bit dry. Although 90 minutes is a good rule of thumb for a traditional pound cake, the oven temp for this one is a bit higher, so a shorter baking time may yield a moister cake. It's definitely worth baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I was raised on the version of this cake that starts with a box of cake mix - I put this one over it in my cookbook! This cake was moist and had a great flavor. I only baked it for about 50 minutes to a clean toothpick. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States