Sock it to Me Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
First of all I wish that when posting these recipes the information given is correct. When baking time is off, and ingredients aren't to the letter making a quality product is next to impossible. I baked this cake as instructed, and the result was terrible. 90 minutes is way too long for this cake to bake, and I do not know if it was a mistake but 3 and I love cinnamon, tablespoons of cinnamon is a bit much. And not only that but after baking for an hour the crust was hard, and the cake was dry. I wasted 20 dollars on ingredients, and was less than pleased. If I try it again I'll deffinitely make modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This is a perfect base recipe for Sock It To Me Cake! I prefer from scratch, and I get so many requests for this cake. I've altered this recipe somewhat to make it a little richer for my own personal tastes, but I highly recommend this! Thanks for contributing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is basically a sour cream pound cake with a strip of nuts and spice in the center. The flavor of the cake is very good, but it came out a bit dry. Although 90 minutes is a good rule of thumb for a traditional pound cake, the oven temp for this one is a bit higher, so a shorter baking time may yield a moister cake. It's definitely worth baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was the best from-scratch cake I have ever made. We all loved the smooth, light texture and the cinnamon/sugar/nuts filling. I did reduce the cinnamon to 1 Tbsp. instead of 3, otherwise it would have been a bit too strong. Other than that, this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
This cake was easy to bake and the taste was great! Everyone thinks I'm a good cook! (if only they really knew) Try it and see but most of all TASTE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This cake was incredibly moist and delicious. In the past I've used other recipes and always felt the cake was too dry. I did make variations to the recipe. 1. I only added 2 TBSP of cinnamon, I added another 1/2tsp of mexican real vanilla (delish!), I also added a little butter in the cinnamon, sugar, nut layer. It helped bind and saturate the layer. The biggest thing is that I only baked the cake for 65 minutes in the oven. 90 would have RUINED it. So, I guess I should say that with the tips people gave and some of my own, it became the best Sock It To Me can I've ever EVER had. I would highly suggest the way I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gentry, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
i made this cake and sock'd it to all of my in laws not only was it great, but i made it from scratch unlike their cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
A very good cake. I curious if there was a typo on the cinnamon. It was a bit much for my taste. Next time I will use 3 tsp. instead of the 3 tbsp that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darwin
Home Town: Edna, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Island Girl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Made this cake for a birthday girl at work, co-workers loved it. It is not too sweet. I did increase the nuts to 1 cup. The birthday girl was trying keep it from disappearing so that she could take it home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was almost perfect. My bundt pan was dark and the crust seemed to come out thick. Other than that the cake was DELICIOUS! And I only had to cook it for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States