Sock it to Me Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
This cake was easy to bake and the taste was great! Everyone thinks I'm a good cook! (if only they really knew) Try it and see but most of all TASTE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This is a perfect base recipe for Sock It To Me Cake! I prefer from scratch, and I get so many requests for this cake. I've altered this recipe somewhat to make it a little richer for my own personal tastes, but I highly recommend this! Thanks for contributing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
i made this cake and sock'd it to all of my in laws not only was it great, but i made it from scratch unlike their cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
very delicious, excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I only had to bake this for an hour. Thank goodness I decided to check it then. Good flavor but I think even after an hour it was a little over done. Next time I think I'd alternate the cake layers and filling layers at least twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Island Girl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Made this cake for a birthday girl at work, co-workers loved it. It is not too sweet. I did increase the nuts to 1 cup. The birthday girl was trying keep it from disappearing so that she could take it home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was almost perfect. My bundt pan was dark and the crust seemed to come out thick. Other than that the cake was DELICIOUS! And I only had to cook it for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This cake is DELICIOUS! I got compliments saying that it tasted like real bread because of the softness of the center. It's a great recipe and really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I was raised on the version of this cake that starts with a box of cake mix - I put this one over it in my cookbook! This cake was moist and had a great flavor. I only baked it for about 50 minutes to a clean toothpick. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is basically a sour cream pound cake with a strip of nuts and spice in the center. The flavor of the cake is very good, but it came out a bit dry. Although 90 minutes is a good rule of thumb for a traditional pound cake, the oven temp for this one is a bit higher, so a shorter baking time may yield a moister cake. It's definitely worth baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States