Sock it to Me Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by iamabeast
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I made this last night and half is gone already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tracy
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is a great sock it to me cake recipe. Was easy to make. The only thing I did differently was add vanilla flavor. Mmy family loved it and it took me back down memory lane.when I was a child we would visit the south for our family reunions and this was always my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catrina Morgan
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe was simple and delicious. It's my husbands favorite and I will be making it a lot more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catrina Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHYNNAC
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
OMG this cake turned out absolutely delicious it was simple to make and baked perfectly, the only thing I changed was the glaze I added more of a cream cheese icing glaze is that recipes glaze was a little too powder sugary for me. I will make this again for sure! I did add 1/2 cup of oil as others suggested, I used butter pecan cake mix and also swirled the mix instead of leaving it in the middle. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe was good. The batter tasted good. The flavor of the cake was very good but the problem was the cook time. 45-55 minutes is way too long. I took mine out at 42 minutes and it was burned. This was disappointing since there was no indication it was being overcooked (no burning smell while baking). The outside was very dark and hard but the inside was a moist delicious cake, didn't bother icing it since outside was ruined but I still ate it. If you make this recipe I would start watching the oven to take it out around 30 minutes. I would make again, with adjustments to cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I read all the reviews and modified the following... I used 1/2 cup of Canola oil since that's what I had on hand and I added 1 tsp of Almond extract. OMG! This was a moist and flavorful cake. Absolutely fabulous. Thank you Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My family enjoyed this cake a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly. I used a Pilsbury Butter Cake mix and also added a little butter extract. Some of the other cooks stated that the cinnamon was too strong in the center, so I decided to swirl this through o even out both the taste and texture. Very quick and simple cake. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I used this recipe twice and both times the cake was a hit. My family enjoys this cake for the holidays and is now a family tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States