Sock it to Me Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My husband and I agreed that this cake was dry and the flavor was a little on the bland side. I normally enjoy sock it to me cake but this is just not the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I had a craving for cake tonight, and this filled it! It was so good! I used yellow cake mix because that's all I had, and omitted the pecans (didn't have any). Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly! I did have to take it out at 40 minutes instead of 45, but that may just be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is a nostalgic recipe in our family that has been one of my kids' favorites since they were very little--and now they're both pushing 30! I never used the nuts only because the kids didn't like them, and occasionally make this in a Bundt pan. The aroma as it's baking is wonderful, like a good comfort food should be. It is deliciously moist with a ribbon of cinnamon and not too sweet, especially since there is only a powdered sugar glaze and not a heavy frosting. Even now when my kids come, I still make this cake---just for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Overall, this was a good cake. I followed the recipe to the letter, but it still came out a little dry for me. I will definitely try again but with a few adjustments. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Great cake! Made it last night, and was a little suprised how dark the outer layer turned but I was pleasantly surprised with a moist and fluffy piece. I did omit the glaze. I think it is even better this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Nothing special about this one. I will delete this one from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I LOVED THIS CAKE IT WAS SO SO GOOD I MADE IT FOR A NEW YEARS PARTY AND EVERYONE LOVED IT. AND IT LOOKED AMAZING I PUT IT ON 375 BUT I NOTICED AFTER 20 MINUTES THAT IT LOOKED LIKE IT WAS COOKING TO FAST SO I TURNED IT DOWN TO 350 AND COOKED IT A COUPLE MINUTES LONGER IT WAS SO GOOD I WILL BE MAKING IT AGAIN SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I have to say this cake was outstanding my wife hates cinnamon but she loved this cake I can't really say it's the best I ever had because I only got to eat one piece the rest she hid it from me and ate it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Delicious! I omitted the nuts and I added a little extra cinnamon to the cake mix. I also dusted the pan with a cinnamon/ sugar mixture first. (I got that idea from the recipe for Banana Sour CreamBread found on this site.) I also doubled the cinnamon/brown sugar mix for the middle. This will be a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States