Sock it to Me Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Awesome cake! The sour cream really makes the difference. My family hasnt gotten burnt out yet so Im averaging one a month...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I was looking for the original Sock It To Me Cake I used to make from the side of the cake mix box. This one is close (and very good) but it's missing something flavor wise - a tiny bit bland in some way. After some research on the original recipe, I think I'll add the 2 tsp vanilla to it next time. Also, less white sugar. It's a bit too sweet, even for my sweet tooth, after all the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I tried this recipe today and it was delicious! The cake was moist and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made this as muffins. I followed the basic recipe omitting the 1/4c added sugar in the cake batter (as if the mix doesn't contain enought sugar). I placed about a tablespoon of batter in the bottom of the paper-lined muffing pan, topped it with 2 tsp of the following streusel: 2/3c flour, 1c brown sugar 1 tbsp ground cinnamon and mixed it with 6 tbsp of melted butter. Added more batter and then another layer of streusel. I baked it for about 20-25 minutes and then when cool, drizzled it with powdered sugar icing. Excellent 'coffeecake' muffin! Moist and cinnamony. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very good cake, yum!! My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I just baked this cake using yellow cake instead of butter, and walnuts instead of pecans because that is what I had on hand.The only reason for the 4 stars is the glaze. In the pic it looks wonderful, but when I mixed it up, it just didnt taste that good...too much of that powdered sugar taste that I just dont like too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I can't imagine a better version. This was perfect. It's just the right sweetness and is so moist. Mine didn't need to bake the whole time. I took it out 5 minutes early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My husband and I agreed that this cake was dry and the flavor was a little on the bland side. I normally enjoy sock it to me cake but this is just not the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I had a craving for cake tonight, and this filled it! It was so good! I used yellow cake mix because that's all I had, and omitted the pecans (didn't have any). Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly! I did have to take it out at 40 minutes instead of 45, but that may just be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States