Sock it to Me Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I was looking for the original Sock It To Me Cake I used to make from the side of the cake mix box. This one is close (and very good) but it's missing something flavor wise - a tiny bit bland in some way. After some research on the original recipe, I think I'll add the 2 tsp vanilla to it next time. Also, less white sugar. It's a bit too sweet, even for my sweet tooth, after all the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I tried this recipe today and it was delicious! The cake was moist and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made this as muffins. I followed the basic recipe omitting the 1/4c added sugar in the cake batter (as if the mix doesn't contain enought sugar). I placed about a tablespoon of batter in the bottom of the paper-lined muffing pan, topped it with 2 tsp of the following streusel: 2/3c flour, 1c brown sugar 1 tbsp ground cinnamon and mixed it with 6 tbsp of melted butter. Added more batter and then another layer of streusel. I baked it for about 20-25 minutes and then when cool, drizzled it with powdered sugar icing. Excellent 'coffeecake' muffin! Moist and cinnamony. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very good cake, yum!! My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I just baked this cake using yellow cake instead of butter, and walnuts instead of pecans because that is what I had on hand.The only reason for the 4 stars is the glaze. In the pic it looks wonderful, but when I mixed it up, it just didnt taste that good...too much of that powdered sugar taste that I just dont like too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I can't imagine a better version. This was perfect. It's just the right sweetness and is so moist. Mine didn't need to bake the whole time. I took it out 5 minutes early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My husband and I agreed that this cake was dry and the flavor was a little on the bland side. I normally enjoy sock it to me cake but this is just not the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I had a craving for cake tonight, and this filled it! It was so good! I used yellow cake mix because that's all I had, and omitted the pecans (didn't have any). Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly! I did have to take it out at 40 minutes instead of 45, but that may just be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is a nostalgic recipe in our family that has been one of my kids' favorites since they were very little--and now they're both pushing 30! I never used the nuts only because the kids didn't like them, and occasionally make this in a Bundt pan. The aroma as it's baking is wonderful, like a good comfort food should be. It is deliciously moist with a ribbon of cinnamon and not too sweet, especially since there is only a powdered sugar glaze and not a heavy frosting. Even now when my kids come, I still make this cake---just for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States