Sock it to Me Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Very Good!! I play kick ball and our team name is the Bundt Cakes so I made this for a treat after the game. The team still talks about the cake and wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I forgot to add the 1/4 cup sugar but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this to bring to work for a coworkers retirement, and everyone raved about it. The smell of it baking was absolutely wonderful, wasn't sure if the cake would even make it to work!! Thanks for sharing your recipe Becky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I'm trying this one for the 1st time as I write this (it's actually in the oven now!). I am pleasedwith the simplicity of the ingredients but I am not pleased with the flow of the recipe on the paper. I am going to have to rewrite this one so I am adding the right ingredients at the right time. I can't wait to taste this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Was just ok for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe tastes good but a little dry for me. I just increased the oil to 1/2 cup and omitted the water and increased the milk to 1/2 cup. Great! Thanks for a great old favorite. I will used it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This cake was really good. It was a little to dry for me. I think increasing the amount of oil to 1/2 cup instead of 1/3 may make up the difference. Like some others have suggested, I will swirl the cinnamon mixture into the cake instead of leaving it one layer. It tastes so good inside the cake (not overpowering at all, like I thought) that I wanted it in every bite and not just the center. But my family loved it! Even the cake master herself (my grandmother) commented that the cake was delicious! I think I "socked-it-to-them" with this one! Happy baking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ednichol
Photo by kay104kay
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My guests raved about how good this tasted, but for me as a baker it was a little too dry although it was moist. Next time I will increase the oil to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
THIS CAKE IS SO AWESOME! I HAD LOST MY RECIPE FOR SOCK IT TO ME CAKE, AND SO GLAD I FOUND THIS ONE. I FOLLOWED ADVICE OF PREVIOUS REVIEWERS, SWIRLING THE FILLING THRU THE CAKE WITH A BUTTER KNIFE INSTEAD OF HAVING IT IN ONE BIG LAYER. AND I LOWERED THE TEMP ON THE OVEN TOWARDS THE END TO 350. INSTEAD OF USING THE DRIZZLE FOR ICING, I MAKE MY OWN HOMEMADE CREAM CHEESE ICING, WHICH YOU CAN FIND ON HERE, THERE ARE MANY RECIPES FOR IT. USING A LIGHT CREAM CHEESE FROSTING REALLY MAKES THIS CAKE A TREAT!! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Awesome cake! The sour cream really makes the difference. My family hasnt gotten burnt out yet so Im averaging one a month...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States