Sock it to Me Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Do not bake 50 minutes, I did 40 and this was more than enough. I only added 1/4 cup of sugar to the cake mix and I felt this was plenty. The cake had a nice flavor but was dry. I opted to skip the icing recipe because I could not bring myself to add a stick of butter to an already 'fatty' cake. Instead I used 1 cup of confectionary mixed with 2T of milk and a touch of vanilla. I'm sure the recipe would be less dry with the listed icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by freewhat2
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Well I guess I'll Get the Negative Out Of the Way First..I Used a 10 inch Bundt Pan, I Like the Sock it to Me in a Bundt..It Wasn't Enough Room for Cake to Rise and this Cake Rises Very Well.. So All Using a Bundt, USE A DEEP BUNDT Pan WITH THIS RECIPE,has Lots Of Batter.. If Using a Bundt Pan The Deeper the Better!..EVERYTHING ELSE.. IS EXCELLENT, PERFECT RECIPE IN MY BOOK AND THE GUYS loved It..YES It's Sweet, However a Glass Of Ice Cold Milk Sets It Off.. No Problem with the Sugar, Any one Who Doesn't like a real Sweet Cake, Perhaps just cut back to half a cup of Sugar in the Cake Mixing Part or Exclude the 1 Cup of Sugar all together.. I'm Posting Pictures of My Final Results for this Recipe. Note: The Bottom of the Cake, It has a Crunchy Top, like a Pound Cake and with my bundt Pan not being Deep enough it actually somewhat pulled away Or Rised to high IN THE BAKING PROCESS .. But the Taste Is to Die For Good..SUPER MOIST MELT IN YOUR MOUTH CAKE.. THANKS FOR POSTING! SEE PHOTO'S..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freewhat2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I tried the recipe again. This time I eliminated all the sugar in the batter. The sweetness in the cake mix alone was more than sufficient. I'm giving 5 stars for taste, texture and presentation. If possible, do not slice until completely cooled down and left to rest, maybe even a day or overnight. The difference is incredible! I also would cut the brown sugar in the streusel down to 1/2 cup instead of the 3/4 cup for those, like myself, who must watch their sugar intake. Less glaze can also be used. Other than that, it's a wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
A "sock-it-to-me" cake was requested by a co-worker as a special treat. Having never heard of it before. I asked him what the ingredients were. This recipe came the closest to what he described. However, I made a couple of adjustments. I left out the nuts, added lemon zest to the cake mix, and used a buttermilk powder reconstituted with lemon juice instead of water in the icing. My co-worker said this was the BEST sock-it-to-me cake he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Great! Used a bundt pan- looked amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Excellent cake!! Fixed it for a party and everyone loved it - I wouldn't change a thing, and I think that it would be good as a brunch item as well. No problems with the icing and the buttery taste adds to the cake - a very RICH and heavy cake - perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I made this cake for one of my desserts for Thanksgiving. It was delicious! It was moist and had great flavor. However, after reading the previous reviews, I decided not to use the hot icing from the recipe. Instead I mixed confectioners sugar, milk and a bit of vanilla to make a simple topping for my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
very good I served it at a church luncheon and got plenty compliments on it. I thing the icing made it a little to moist and the butter separated from the other ingredients. I will definately make it again but I will make a few changes to the icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
SO good that my co-workers were fighting over the last pieces! GREAT cake and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Ricketts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Very Good. I only used 8 oz. of sour cream, but it tastes just fine. Very moist. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States