Sock it to Me Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
Fantastic cake! Very easy to make and unbelievably tasty! Everyone loved it, or so they told me anyway. I didn't need to bake it for 70 min., only 50.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
DELICIOUS! This is my first time making this cake and it was easy to make. I think it needs less oil and I baked it for maybe 38 minutes. I also use a glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKE LADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I made version I & II and both were gone in moments! I will try to rest of the versions as well. But version II is the favorite. The hot icing is wonderful. I love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I have made this recipe multiple times with yellow, strawberry, or lemon cake. I cooked this 42 minutes, omitted the pecans and omitted the brown sugar and cinnamon when I made it with strawberry or lemon cake. Huge raves and requests for repeats from coworkers. Used buttercream frosting to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Very good! Easy to prepare, pecans gave good flavor and texture. A little less sugar in the batter and the addition of a glaze would be great. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs smiff
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This cake is easy to make and delicious. I used the glaze for Sock II. My husband couldn't wait for it to cool down!!! I'd only make half the quantity of glaze next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I really don't know what the excitement is about this cake. I found it rather boring, AND I, too, burned it. Not horribly, but definitely burned. And that was at 45 minutes bake time. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I burnt the cake. 70 minutes was way too long. Otherwise it looked fabulous while preparing it. I shall try it again, but not tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
THIS CAKE IS SURELY A CROWD PLEASER. IT MAKES EVERYONE PROUD TO HAVE THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Excellent, fast and oh so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States