Sock it to Me Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
Fantastic cake! Very easy to make and unbelievably tasty! Everyone loved it, or so they told me anyway. I didn't need to bake it for 70 min., only 50.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I made version I & II and both were gone in moments! I will try to rest of the versions as well. But version II is the favorite. The hot icing is wonderful. I love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
THIS CAKE IS SURELY A CROWD PLEASER. IT MAKES EVERYONE PROUD TO HAVE THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I burnt the cake. 70 minutes was way too long. Otherwise it looked fabulous while preparing it. I shall try it again, but not tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Very good! Easy to prepare, pecans gave good flavor and texture. A little less sugar in the batter and the addition of a glaze would be great. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I really don't know what the excitement is about this cake. I found it rather boring, AND I, too, burned it. Not horribly, but definitely burned. And that was at 45 minutes bake time. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I have made this recipe multiple times with yellow, strawberry, or lemon cake. I cooked this 42 minutes, omitted the pecans and omitted the brown sugar and cinnamon when I made it with strawberry or lemon cake. Huge raves and requests for repeats from coworkers. Used buttercream frosting to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Very good! I made this for Christmas and people liked it as much as the the other desserts that weere harder to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I made this for my family at Christmas and everyone LOVED it! I have made it several more times since and can't get over how easy and yummy this cake is.I also only bake it for 50 min. Very good and so so easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs smiff
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This cake is easy to make and delicious. I used the glaze for Sock II. My husband couldn't wait for it to cool down!!! I'd only make half the quantity of glaze next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States