Soccer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
The BEST salad ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
We loved this. I used 1/2 tsp. chicken bouillon powder in place of Accent -- the Knorr brand contains MSG and seemed a suitable substitute. I added sesame oil (to taste) to the dressing to augment the rich sesame flavor of the toasted seeds. Thanks for the recipe, I'll use this dressing again, as it's mild and made from things I always have around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This salad was great! I loved the flavor the dressing gave to the salad. All of the ingredients are very different so I wasn't sure how they would all go together, but this is fantastic. I don't usually like almonds in things, but I loved them in here. We will definitely eat this again! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Way better than expected! I cut the recipe in half for my family of 4 and just used a bag of prewashed lettuce. I also toasted the almonds and sesame seeds in a small skillet and added real bacon bits/pieces (about half a bag) to the pan, heated through. Meanwhile, I mixed up the dressing in a small bowl and once the almonds, seeds and bacon were ready I added them to the dressing while hot, which really nicely distributed the bacon flavor. Tossed all before serving, great and so simple; I think this only took about 10 minutes tops! :D Thanks for the new recipe to add to my rotating collection of keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
LOVE this salad! Made it twice exactly as listed but modified it the last couple times to lighten it up. Decreased oil to 1/3 cup of EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) in place of 1/2 cup of vegetable oil because I thought it was too oily, used Splenda instead of white sugar, omitted the bacon, and, as another reviewer suggested, used HerbOx chicken bouillon granules (no MSG) in place of Accent. Still had the same great taste with a lot less calories. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Loved it. My only changes were I cut back on the oil (just our family preference) and I didn't use as much sugar. To the person that gave "the most helpful review" Um, first people do realize that if they want more veggies they can add them; that is NOT a review. Also, when you make the all the changes you said to make you basically have a different salad. Don't bother reviewing because you are not review the original recipe. We've had this with steak and chicken (grilled both times). I had roasted veggies but wanted some thing cook and crisp too. this fit the bill perfectly. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was the best! Served it for a crowd of 40 and they loved it. Same type of salad as the coleslaw and Ichi Ban but this had more of a kick. Two heads of lettuce is not too muck either. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I liked the salad ingredients, but I thought that the dressing was a bit bland. I recommend adding 2 teaspoons of salt, and skip the garlic. Also adding chopped green onions and poppy seeds give it a different kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I don't usually toast my almonds, just add them as is. This time I did toast almonds and sesame seeds. Wow, what great flavor. I try to keep cooked bacon in the freezer to cut down on prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Sweet, crunchy and light. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States