Soccer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Our entire (extended) family loves this recipes. I'm always asked to bring this to all family gatherings! The dressing will make more than probably needed. I often decrease the amount by 1/3 and still have plenty. We often bake the bacon, lining a 9x13 pan with aluminum foil to save ourselves a mess. When in a pinch for time, I've bought the pre-cooked bacon, and no one can really tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Sweet, crunchy and light. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Loved it. My only changes were I cut back on the oil (just our family preference) and I didn't use as much sugar. To the person that gave "the most helpful review" Um, first people do realize that if they want more veggies they can add them; that is NOT a review. Also, when you make the all the changes you said to make you basically have a different salad. Don't bother reviewing because you are not review the original recipe. We've had this with steak and chicken (grilled both times). I had roasted veggies but wanted some thing cook and crisp too. this fit the bill perfectly. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
There is nothing wrong with the salad portion that the addition of a few veggies wouldn't cure. The dressing has to go. Too much sugar.Too much oil. We would substitute olive oil and that one third of a cup. The addition of the veggies and some garbanzo beans would bring the nutrition value up to an acceptable level. Keep the garlic. Some bean sprouts are nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Marino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I don't usually toast my almonds, just add them as is. This time I did toast almonds and sesame seeds. Wow, what great flavor. I try to keep cooked bacon in the freezer to cut down on prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I liked the salad ingredients, but I thought that the dressing was a bit bland. I recommend adding 2 teaspoons of salt, and skip the garlic. Also adding chopped green onions and poppy seeds give it a different kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
LOVE this salad! Made it twice exactly as listed but modified it the last couple times to lighten it up. Decreased oil to 1/3 cup of EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) in place of 1/2 cup of vegetable oil because I thought it was too oily, used Splenda instead of white sugar, omitted the bacon, and, as another reviewer suggested, used HerbOx chicken bouillon granules (no MSG) in place of Accent. Still had the same great taste with a lot less calories. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Way better than expected! I cut the recipe in half for my family of 4 and just used a bag of prewashed lettuce. I also toasted the almonds and sesame seeds in a small skillet and added real bacon bits/pieces (about half a bag) to the pan, heated through. Meanwhile, I mixed up the dressing in a small bowl and once the almonds, seeds and bacon were ready I added them to the dressing while hot, which really nicely distributed the bacon flavor. Tossed all before serving, great and so simple; I think this only took about 10 minutes tops! :D Thanks for the new recipe to add to my rotating collection of keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This salad was great! I loved the flavor the dressing gave to the salad. All of the ingredients are very different so I wasn't sure how they would all go together, but this is fantastic. I don't usually like almonds in things, but I loved them in here. We will definitely eat this again! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
We loved this. I used 1/2 tsp. chicken bouillon powder in place of Accent -- the Knorr brand contains MSG and seemed a suitable substitute. I added sesame oil (to taste) to the dressing to augment the rich sesame flavor of the toasted seeds. Thanks for the recipe, I'll use this dressing again, as it's mild and made from things I always have around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States