Soccer Ball Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by globetrotter
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made this cake for my son on his 10th birthday. I made a field using a 9x13 cake pan and a ovenproof bowl to make the soccer ball. I used the white frosting II/wedding cake icing recipes from this site to frost and decorate the cake. Used a paper pattern to cut out the hexagon and pentagon shape. Traced onto the cake with a toothpick. Used a regular tip to draw the outline on the ball. Used another reviewers suggestion to color dessicated coconut green to make grass for the field. My son's expression when he saw his birthday cake made all the effort worthwhile. NOTE: I ended up decorating the cake with a chocolate icing, since when I tried to make black colored icing it turned out a strange grey/purple mess. I used white frosting II recipe from this site, but my forsting came out very gritty. Maybe I did something wrong, but the kids loved the cake and ate it without any hesitations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by globetrotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Horton
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I have the soccer ball cake pan and it worked perfectly for my husbands scary eyeball birthday cake that my kids wanted me to make. Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Photo by Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I used the Wilton Ball Pan to bake my cake. It took about 50 mins to bake. I put a buttercream crumb crust on first. I totally overlooked the toothpick trick and used clear gel and the template to put my markings on the cake. I'm sure the toothpicks would've worked better. I only decorated half the cake because the icing was warming up and I was getting worn out! Please ignore the "grass" as I'm missing the correct tip. I've just purchased fondant that I'm going to try out. I think the pattern will turn out better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I made this for my son, Michael's 4th birthday, and he LOVED it! Everyone was complimenting it all day. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
What a great idea - I'm no great cake decorator but this worked well even for me! Cooked the ball in a metal pudding basin, and a field in a large rectangular pan. Pressing shapes of pentagons/hexagons into white icing with a toothpick made it easy to pipe the black lines and they did not run. Looked fantastic & very popular with all at my son's 8th birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I used the bowl and cake directions to make this cake. Instead of the licorice I searched the net for something different. I used the white frosting II/wedding cake icing recipes from this site to put a thin layer of icing on first. Used a paper pattern to cut out the hexagon and pentagon shape. Traced onto the cake with a toothpick. Used a regular tip to draw the outline on the ball blue (colored small amount of icing). Used a star tip to fill in all the white parts of the cake with the remaining icing. Lastly, I placed coconut in a ziploc bag and put in some green food coloring to coat. (the grass around the ball). My 15 year old son who LOVES soccer LOVED this cake for his birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs smiff
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made this for a friend's birthday party in a local restaurant and all the staff were amazed. Really easy to make. I used cherry laces, but it still looked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
thanks for the idea im going to make it with my mom for my 13th b-day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liz
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I made this for my son's soccer team. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I love this idea. I made a baseball cake instead, but equally fabulous. Once the cake came out for the team party all the cameras started snapping. The possibilities are endless with a half round; you can make any type ball or even shove a doll in the center and make it a dress. Imagination is a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soccer Ball Cake

Celebrate birthdays or big games with a soccer ball cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States