Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Very good, tasty recipe although we did alter it a little. We used balsamic vinegar instead of Chinese vinegar and we doubled the "sauce" ingredients since my husband likes sauce with everything. Also, we didn't wait for it to get to room temperature although I am sure it is good at room temperature also. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
It's hard to make soba attractive to Americans. My roomate calls it the worm dish. This recipe does a good job making it palatable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
This is the best soba recipe that I have tried. If you have time, I would steam the broccoli for 3 or 4 minutes. Very fast, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I found this delicious and would definitly recommend it. However, I served it hot and would suggest adding some fried shallots. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I LOVE this, reminds me of a salad we had in the Deli I worked at. I used blanched julienned carrots and bell peppers and sugar snap peas, and omitted the broccoli. I toasted the sesame seeds on a low flame in a fry pan. I also doubled it for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I served this to my husband and a house guest, and I thought I'd have enough for left overs... wrong, they ate every last drop. What more could you ask for - inexpensive, quick, easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Went to the Japanese grocery and got all of the ingredients, Followed the recipe to the "t" and won't make it again. The sweetness of the vinegar and sugar completely defeated the smokey savory flavors of the soy and sesame. This hodge podge of flavors lacked subtlety, turned my stomach and left us looking for something else to eat to make up for a terrible dinner. My thoughts: Omit or reduce white sugar. Substitute Tamari (a darker stronger soy sauce) for regular soy. And for goodness sake... ORDER OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Really good, leftovers were even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
If you want to eat a healthy dish, you've got one here! The dressing is very good; subtly sweet and nice addition of sesame and sesame oil. I also added cooked and cubed chicken and chopped mango. This turned out to be a healthy yet hearty meal itself. I became a fan of soba noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Delicious!! My teen just made me promise I will make this once every week. I stir-fried snow-peas, julienned carrots and sliced mushrooms in 1 tsp oil and added to the soba. And served it topped with grilled prawns on skewers! Exotic combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States