Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
this is a good recipe it tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Very good. I tasted during the 30 min wait and it was a little bland so I added a hand full of Cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes for Soba noodles. I alsways make this New Year's. In Japan it is considered good luck to eat Soba noodles, the longer the better. Everybody always wants more. For such a simple recipe it sure is a crowd pleaser. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
It's edible. I didn't have any sesame seeds or green onions, but I followed everything else except letting it sit for a half hour and I wasn't really happy with it. My impression is that the culprit is the vinegar, but in any case, I'm taking it out of the recipe box. I'm glad so many others enjoyed it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very nice recipe. Made the following revisions based on others' suggestions: substituted Rice Wine Vinegar for the Balsamic; used half tamari and half low salt soy for the soy component; sauteed the broccoli, a couple cups of chopped napa cabbage, a couple stalks of thinly diagonally sliced celery, one can of rinsed asian mushrooms until slightly softened and heated through; tossed the sauteed veggies with the cooked noodles and sauce; topped with cilantro, scallions, and sesame seeds to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Sesame seeds are overpowering. I'd suggest cutting the called for amount in half or even by a quarter. I also thought the sauce was missing something I can't put my finger on... ginger, maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Nothing amazing but good and filling. I used a 16oz. package of stir fry veggies which was about the right balance with noodles. I also doubled the sauce and served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I love soba noodles but didn't have any when I decided to make this recipe so I used spaghetti.It worked fine. I didn't add the broccoli (wasn't in the mood).My 7 year old couldn't get enough. Great quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA 1212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spicer, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was good, though I tried doubling the recipe and there wasn't enough sauce for the noddles. I think I'll give it another shot at the posted amounts. I also like a bit more veggies with my noddles. I lightly steamed the broccoli before I added it this time. I'll do it again but maybe add some seeded cucumber, maybe some carrot, oh, and perhaps some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Yum! Followed recipe with one additional step. I placed the chopped broccoli into the collander and drained soba over broccoli. This provided just enough heat and steam to bring out the tenderness and vibrant green of the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States