Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I couldn't find soba noodles at my grocery store (and they're usually pretty good about ethnic items), so I used whole grain linguini instead. I added carrots and I steamed the veggies for about 4 minutes to partially cook them. I think this tasted better than it would have raw. I just eyeballed the amount of sesame seeds to add and I'm pretty sure I used far less than half a cup. With my modifications, I really enjoyed this. Tasted good both warm and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Didn't hate it but didn't love it either. Had to double the sauce for the amount of noodles used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Soo-ba yummie! I added a veggie stir-fry as recommended by others (carrots, broccoli, onions, mushrooms, & baked tofu); and poured on a mixture of soy sauce, sesame oil, sugar, & fresh ginger at the very end. I liked the presentation, and turns out those soba noodles are pretty nutritious and high in protein. I'd definitely like to use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
You can do several things with this recipe... I didn't have balsamic vinegar, so I substituted for red wine vinegar and it tasted just as delicious. Also, you can add cooked chicken (fake chicken for vegetarians)in the end, and it tastes absolutely delicious with it. Nice filling, but not heavy meal on a hot day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I did double the sauce because I found it a little bland. Very tasty and a huge hit with a sushi party I threw. Will make again...Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I browned extra seeds and then I tripled the sauce and let it sit a bit longer in the extra sauce to absorb as much as possible into the noodles. I served it luke-warm... my roommate and boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pipi2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
The sauce was not that flavorful and not to our liking. Would change it up next time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I decided to blanch the broccoli first based on some reviewer's comments, but I think it would have been much better raw. You need the sharper flavor and crunch of raw broccoli to balance this salad. The dressing is absolutely delicious and would also make a good marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I would have given this 3 stars, but my 7 year old daughter RAVED. This definitely needs to sit for an hour or so at room temp to let the flavors meld. It's missing a layer of flavor like some others suggested. I added a grated carrot and julienne cucumber at the end. I think next time I'll make the peanut sauce from the Satay Chicken from this site, leave it a little thin, then add about a half-cup to the sauce. It's still pretty good cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States