Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I found the sauce flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I had a 12 oz pkg of soba so ended up triple on the sauce. Used half balsamic, half rice vinegar. Added carrots, mushrooms and zucchini along with the broccoli, each lightly steamed and/or stir fried before tossing. I didn't have near 1/2 cup of sesame seeds but thought I'd be OK, probably won't use 1/2 cup next time but will use a lot more than the appx 2T that I had, the toasted seeds really make everything else better. Made for a great meatless meal. The kiddos loved this and were so happy to take the leftovers for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipes was a good basis for an easy meal but did need some tweaking. It was really good hot but my family didn't like it cold. I steamed the broccoli and would add way more broccoli and some julienne carrots next time. I agree with the posters who said it could use some heat and it would be good with rice vinegar instead of balsamic. Fish sauce might also be a worthwhile addition. I tripled the sauce and marinated sliced chicken in the extra sauce. I cooked the chicken in the marinade with a couple of spoons full of peanut butter added for a satay style flavor. The peanut butter added an excellent layer of flavor to this sauce and the chicken was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I rolled tofu in the sesame seeds then pan fried with a little oil and added to this dish, SOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Pretty good, but too much vinegar. I would use less next time. For veggies I used red, yellow, and green peppers along with some carrot and the green onion. I sauteed them for just a few minutes to soften them, but not too long as to keep a crunch. I may try again, but with less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Excellent starter recipe. It was definitely a little bland for our tastes, so I added a bit of oyster sauce, ginger and wasabi powder. For the veggies I used raw spinach and deseeded sliced cucumber which gave it a nice crunch. Also stirred in a can of dark tuna (Korean brand from Asian store). Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieCarrie
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very good recipe to start with, just made a few tweaks (personal preference) to the sauce. I'd also advise, it does NOT take 10-12 minutes to toast sesame seeds at that oven temperature - maybe half that time. But this was a good, easy recipe that I'll definitely keep making and modifying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I just made this tonight after a long day of work. I didn't have soba noodles so I used spagetti instead. I also use water chestnuts instead of brocolli and also added some cooked onions. It was very good especially with a splash of hot sauce and a dash of ginger powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Quite nice. A good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
First of all, I had no broccoli, so I used peas and a couple green beans instead. I also didn't have fresh garlic, so I had to use garlic powder. I probably used 1/8 Cup of sesame seeds and that was more than enough. I would go easy on the balsamic vinegar. It was just okay, so we kept adding stuff to it through out the meal. The sliced ham and salted scrambled egg gave our pallets a pleasant break from being overpowered by the noodle sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Gonzales

Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States