Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Rockin' recipe, thanks so much. I threw in a bit of red pepper flake for some heat and used black sesame seeds. I'll be fixing this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I'm giving it 3 stars as we found it pretty bland. I did blanch the broccoli first, would definitely recommend doing that. I think if I doubled the dressing, it would be better. We also preferred it heated the next day. I did use udon noodles as I couldn't find soba noodles, don't know what the difference - they do look the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
perfect for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I used this recipe as a base. I sauted chicken in butter with a little garlic salt. and i also sauted broccoli, mushrooms, chopped celery and grated carrots. I doubled the sauce and added 10 oz of boiled thin spaghetti noodles to the meat and veggies and poured the sauce on top. It was delicious. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
We liked this. Interesting use of balsamic. I had to use a few less sesame seeds because I double the recipe and didn't have quite a whole cup. I toasted my seeds in a frying pan - I didn't trust myself not to burn them in the oven. You'll want to add quite a bit more oil (sesame or other) to keep the noodles from soaking up all of the sauce. I also added a little more soy at the end. I used a prepackage veggie mix of broccoli, carrots and snow peas. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Great light meal! I used rice vinegar and added 1 shredded chicken breast, 1 thinly sliced carrot, and used shredded napa cabbage in place of the broccoli. I think you could really use whatever veggies you have on hand and this would still be delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anothervictim
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was awesome! I was looking for another way to enjoy my soba noodles and this was it. Next time I will make double the sauce. I used brown sugar instead of white and added some corn starch to thicken it a bit. Wife loved it and she is not big on soba. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was a delicious recipe! I did make some changes: stir fried the broccoli and green onions (and added carrots, and snow peas) and added grilled chicken. I also doubled the sauce (which wasn't necessary). It was delicious and we will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
delicious! I found these noodles at H-mart and thought I would be adventurous by buying them. What a great move! I added stir fried chicken just to make it more of a meal than a side dish for the family. This will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made some poor choices when preparing this recipe that hurt the taste. However, I'm giving it five stars because every part of the dish that was true to the recipe tasted great. My worst decision was to substitute frozen asian veggies for the broccoli and green onions. They just weren't good quality. I also tried to use black sesame seeds because those were what I had on hand, but I couldn't tell when they were toasted properly and I burned the first batch. Rather than risking burning the rest of my sesame seeds, I just added them without toasting. That probably affected the flavor. Anyway, I'm not going to penalize my rating of this recipe for my poor choices. I think it would have been very good if I had followed the recipe more closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States