Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I couldn't believe it, but I couldn't find Soba noodles at all. I substituted spinach pasta, doubled most of the spices and added some chile garlic sauce and it was a wonderful meal. Next time I'll probably add tofu, too. Also, I steamed the veggies and used broccoli, mushrooms and green peppers. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I did quite a bit to this recipe. I sauteed asparagus, carrot, and bell pepper. Then I added the sauce ingredients plus some fish sauce and some cooking wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This salad was tasty and fast. Next time I would add some julienned carrots and snap peas, and probably steam the broccoli lightly first. I also saw that someone else used honey instead of sugar, which makes the dressing less grainy - probably a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is a good recipe to use as a starting point. I changed the veggies, used twice the dressing and added some sweet/hot thai chili sauce and peanut butter to get another layer of flavor. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Loved it. Doubled the sauce and used honey instead of sugar. Stuck to the recipe for everything else. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This dressing is great. It's so light and can taste good with almost anything you add to it. I added cucumbers, pea shoots, tofu, sliced fish balls. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I loved this; I took others' advice and added some rice wine and rice vinegar. I also steamed the broccoli for a minute or two with a splash of soy sauce and sesame oil. In addition, I added some diced red pepper, which I also steamed for a minute. Instead of a large pot of water, I substituted vegetable broth for half of the water, and cooked the noodles in that. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I just made this recipe and I'm gonna' go make it again when I'm done with this bowl for work tomorrow. I substituted rice vinegar for the balsamic and finely diced onion since I didn't have the green. I also added a little garlic powder. Definitely try every vegetable but make sure they're dry. I blanched some green beans and the water in them diluted the dressing quite a lot. The way I just tore into this salad though, you'd think I had an 800# displayed across my chest to call and feed the hungry. I'm going to make more now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
we made it without the egg whites and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
It is an excellent cold noodle dish. I would recommend doubling the sauce recipe and lightly steaming the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States