Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This salad was tasty and fast. Next time I would add some julienned carrots and snap peas, and probably steam the broccoli lightly first. I also saw that someone else used honey instead of sugar, which makes the dressing less grainy - probably a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is a good recipe to use as a starting point. I changed the veggies, used twice the dressing and added some sweet/hot thai chili sauce and peanut butter to get another layer of flavor. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Loved it. Doubled the sauce and used honey instead of sugar. Stuck to the recipe for everything else. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This dressing is great. It's so light and can taste good with almost anything you add to it. I added cucumbers, pea shoots, tofu, sliced fish balls. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I loved this; I took others' advice and added some rice wine and rice vinegar. I also steamed the broccoli for a minute or two with a splash of soy sauce and sesame oil. In addition, I added some diced red pepper, which I also steamed for a minute. Instead of a large pot of water, I substituted vegetable broth for half of the water, and cooked the noodles in that. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I just made this recipe and I'm gonna' go make it again when I'm done with this bowl for work tomorrow. I substituted rice vinegar for the balsamic and finely diced onion since I didn't have the green. I also added a little garlic powder. Definitely try every vegetable but make sure they're dry. I blanched some green beans and the water in them diluted the dressing quite a lot. The way I just tore into this salad though, you'd think I had an 800# displayed across my chest to call and feed the hungry. I'm going to make more now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
we made it without the egg whites and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
It is an excellent cold noodle dish. I would recommend doubling the sauce recipe and lightly steaming the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I was really craving a cold noodles dish and this is both delicious and healthy! I think the recipe ingredients may have changed at some point, as reviews stated that cookers subbed balsamic for the rice vinegar and vice versa. Anyway, with that in mind, I used 1T of balsamic, 2T of rice vinegar and 1T of rice wine (along with 5T soy sauce and 2T sesame seed oil, 1.5T sugar, a 2 cloves of garlic), as I doubled the sauce per many suggestions. This is a very versatile dish and any desired veggies can be added. I had leftover steamed zucchini, summer squash and red pepper and it went very well with the sauce and the noodles. I also added imitation crab to my individual serving (not to the whole dish, as it goes bad fairly quickly and I didn't want to ruin my leftovers!). The crab goes really well with the delicate taste. Great submission- thanks, Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I'm from Hawaii and have had tons of soba. This recipe is different and great! I added a sliced red pepper and used more broccoli. I steamed both slightly. Decreased sesame seeds to 1/3c, doubled soy, and added 1 tsp. hoisin and some crushed red pepper. Tasted okay warm but I let sit in the fridge and it made an awesome cold soba! Delicious. My husband stopped in from work today just to have a bowl. Even my 14 month old will eat the noodles, which is miraculous. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States